Photo Journal Day 82: Monday Morning Chaos

in #photography6 years ago

This morning I awoke at 4:30 a.m. to the sound of sirens. Living in the downtown core, sirens are not out of the ordinary. But it sounded very close and then there was a lot of sirens very close by. So I got up and looked out my window to see fire trucks, police and ambulances all the way down my street. All with a heavy haze of smoke.

IMG_2563.jpg

IMG_2562.jpg

I jumped up, got dressed and of course grabbed my camera. When I got closer to the chaos, I found out that a single family home was a blaze (most houses on the street are split into apartments). People who are direct neighbors of the people who live in the house, told me that everyone got out safe and no one was even injured. Thankfully.

IMG_2572.jpg

IMG_2601.jpg

I went down an alley behind the house (as far as the police would let me) and while standing there, I heard on the radio's that the fire was mainly under control but the fire had already burnt through the roof and they would have to open it up more then it was. This fire fighter then went up a ladder and started to hack at the roof with an axe.

IMG_2642.jpg

Shortly after that, smoke stopped pouring out of the house and things seemed a lot more relaxed among the first responders.

IMG_2670.jpg

Thankfully no one was hurt, but this is still a devastating loss for any family. Luckily this was not as bad as it could have been. The older houses in the downtown core are incredibly close to each other. Literally one or two feet between each other in some places (including this street). This tragedy could have been much worse.

My thoughts and prayers go out to the family effected.

Sort:  

Passing by and Upvoted you :) !
:
“After a certain point, all natural bodily changes are for the worst.” ====> Mokokoma Mokhonoana

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78