Breaching Humpback ~ Vancouver Island, BC

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

The first day I brought my new Canon 7D onto the ocean to take photos and this happened. A huge humpback whale breached about 20m from the vessel I was driving. It has never happened again to me since...

Humpbacks have the largest pectoral fins (arms) of any of other whale species in the world~ this gives them amazing agility in the water.

Hence my favourite nickname to call them The Ballerinas of the Ocean.


IMG_6506.jpg


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed: https://www.instagram.com/thomas_mitchell2912/

Sort:  

I liked the picture .. a wonderful opportunity .. good for you
Wonderful creature
Thank you for sharing your adventure with us

It's amazing how such big animals can be so graceful!

That is really cool, and great luck to catch it on the first day out with a new camera.

Had the good fortune to be kayaking in Hawaii when a whale breached about 100 yards away. I memory I will cherish. Thanks for posting!

that is an awesome moment

That sounds amazing... we'd like to go out kayaking through the whale season!

Impressive height!!! This was as good as we saw when we went out, very lucky! Thanks for sharing, they are amazing <3
19620559_1567747876582471_3816864179246812538_o.jpg

that is a great shot!

Thanks... we certainly never saw the height you were lucky enough to see. They're so quick and this one was so close, only just managed to get it in the frame... would love to see what else you got!

What a golden photo! Congratulations on that shot! You are making me want to put on a diving suit and dive for some pictures of me swimming with whales! I'll probably have to learn to dive first!

Awsome photo...🐳

Thanks for sharing this awesome photo

Very good photo. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86