TimsPhotography 101 - Episode 1: Why you should shoot RAW

in #photography6 years ago

Welcome my dear Steemian friends to a new series called: TimsPhotography 101!

As you know I am very enthused about photography and what started as an experiment turned into a profound passion. Steemit became the first place of my choice to share my work, simply because of the amazing community. Thanks to everybody. You are amazing!

I got many questions from you, such as: "How do you edit your pictures?" or "What camera do you use?". After some consideration, I came to the conclusion that not only I want to show you my photography but also my work process and tips and tricks. Therefore I started this new series in which I will explain a specific topic in each episode, starting today with choosing the right picture format.

Picture what?

Picture format, right! Shooting with the right format can be the missing part to your perfect shot! Trust me, I speak from experience and also got some nice examples for you. But first, let's have a look at the two most commonly used picture formats: JPEG and RAW.

JPEG stands for "Joint Photographic Experts Group." and is a popular image file that is mostly use to store photographs and save space. For every color there are used 8 bits. Since we have red, green and blue (RGB), it is possible to store (2^8)^3= 2^24 colours in the JPEG format. You took out your calucator? The result is 16,777,216! So many colors, amazing right? But that's not all, shooting in JPEG means the picture is being processed right within the camera itself. Settings and corrections such as white balance, noise reduction, sharpening, blacks and much more are being processed by the camera and can't be changed afterwards. There is almost no room left for editing the picture.

Let's have a look at this picture for instance. It represents the JPEG shot of the mountains I took in Austria. It was cold and I was in a hurry. I didn't have enough time to play with the perfect settings and as you can see, the result is poorly.


Here is the exact same shot in RAW. Note that the camera settings were the same. Exposure and aperture were not changed.


The Power of RAW

So while JPEG shots are processed and compressed, RAW files are uncompressed and unprocessed! Quite simple, right? Let's get back to the bits depth. Depending on your camera model you will have either 12 or 14 bits! What does it mean? In the example above with 8 bits we saw that we have around 16,77 millions different tones. In RAW we have (2^12)^3 or (2^14)^3 which results in 68.7 billion or 4.4 trillion different tones! From millions to billions or even trillions, insane! (Hope our market cap will grow the same way). Since RAW files are unprocessed you will notice they are pretty flat in their colors. That's not a problem since we can edit them as we wish! We can change the white balance, blacks, saturation...we can change everything we want! And the best thing is we can save the file and edit it later again.

The camera saves much more information about the scene and due to the nature of uncompressed files the images are much larger than JPEG.


The reason why I shoot in RAW is that I have the freedom to edit my pictures afterwards and save as much information as I can. You get an overall better picture quality because the picture is uncompressed and has less artifacts. If however your memory card is low on space I recommend you to shoot in JPEG. Also take into account that if you want to take rapidly shots, your camera will be faster in shooting JPEG. JPEG for sure offers also a great picture quality and in fact I upload my pictures in JPEG. But shooting, saving and editing them always happens in RAW.

Hope this helped you and you show me your photographs! Don't forget to coin the MyPictureDay photography contest and win big prizes!.

Steem on!

Yours,
Tim

Sort:  

Oh my gawd! You guys are fckn amazing! I can't even express my feelings towards you, the only way is that I make a video answer!

Oh My Gawd! Please do Tim!!! You make the sickest videos!

Sweet video, thanks for sharing

wow, amazing! :D best comment to anything I've ever seen so far

So Nice, You Guys are Good. please Follow me forster202

I love! I would like to have a guitar like that too, colleague

Brilliant fellas!

Insanely brilliant! You guys have a talent.

Creative comment

That is Totally Awesome, and very inspiring.

Loading...

Excellent post. Thanks for the education! I've never really shot in RAW format. I will definitely give it a try.

Thanks for sharing these great tips! I always have a problem with noisy photos at high ISOs with my Canon1300D. I suppose shooting in RAW will fix the problem in these photos? I can't wait to buy a bigger SD card.

hey @j-alhomestudio Please Follow and Upvote me

I tries shooting RAW with my Nikon D3400, but when I put them on my computer the photos wouldn't come up. And I could totally tell the difference on my camera, but it's just a bummer I can't see them on the computer. Is there a way that can be fixed?

You need to install Camera Raw

Cool, that explains RAW so well! I have always been a bit confused about when to use it and what it's good for, and I've most often ended up taking pictures in JPEG to save space. I need to start trying to take pictures in RAW :) what editing program do you use btw?

The student version of Adobe Photoshop :)

Do you strickly use photoshop? I hear some photographers talking about workflow and how lightroom is faster for editing. What brings you to photoshop for editing? (I know its called PHOTOshop lol but i always only used it for graphic design)

I tried Lightroom and it's great. But I got used to PS so I'll stick with it

The built-in Windows 10 photo viewer also offers some basic editing pictures but I think it can't read raw files so they don't come up on the PC. Can photoshop display Raw photos exactly as you see them in the camera? Does it make sense to switch to Raw shooting mode only when it's dark or when you have to use high ISO? I ask because I usually want to save space but occasionally aim for a better than average quality photo. I'll be out experimenting tomorrow. Thanks.

it is very cool done))

is it just me - or are most of the comments on this site are just complete utter bullshit, really?
i mean, come on people! nice pic, love photography, oh wow, all great pthotos, beautiful and lovely, please follow me and upvote.
pheeeew
good shots indeed and perfect example of the power of raw - but shiiiiit, people are really desperate...

Thanks for the nice words buddy! Sometimes there is much spam I agree, but to be honest it's not only on Steemit. Facebook, Instagram, Youtube...you got it everywhere

very true, it comes with the crowd i guess. it's just that i never was a big social media guy and it just hit me. well oh well

Sorry dude but I had to do it:

Bildschirmfoto 2018-02-09 um 21.37.34.png
Bildschirmfoto 2018-02-09 um 21.38.40.png

Most of your comments aren't that different! Not judging anybody at all! Sometimes a few words say more than a huge text but since you are even insulting such commenters I had to say something. Wish you all the best luck!

they are and they aren't. but thank you justice leage for the fair trial

heheheeeeee !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Fundamentally I knew that there was a huge difference, but I honestly hadn't looked into it much. These comparisons are great. I'll definetely look into using raw on my devices now.

Wow I was mind blown when I saw that comparison.Wish I could have you for my personal photographer so you could take photos of my cooking,it would deff get so much more attention haha :D

Great post! Most people have the idea that shooting in RAW isn't necessary unless you plan on blowing your photo up to billboard size. Hopefully a lot can learn from your writing.

Can't agree more!
RAW file me mean still alive, and JPEG is dead picture, can't do more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87