TimTravels - German Christmas Markets Part 1

in #photography6 years ago

Hello and welcome back my Steemian friends to a new episode of TimTravels!


I don't know where to start. This year began pretty crazy, don't you agree? We just saw Steem rise by over 100%, Steemit is growing and while I wrote my 2017 review post I just realized how far Steemit has brought me in life.

I feel like owe Steemit something, owe the community, owe you!

One of the main reasons why I abandoned Facebook, Instagram and all the other platforms is that you guys give amazing feedback. Never before did I receive so many comments to my work than here. I found that comments are one of the greatest motivations to me. Some people are good at blogging, some at curating and others at commenting. For this reason, I decided to make a giveaway with every post from now on. The best and most creative comment wins 10 SBD!


As promised I went to Germany to get an impression of the famous German Christmas markets. I know Christmas is over, but it's still winter and it feels like 2017 was only a short hop behind us (I couldn't resist this awful try to make a bad joke)


This is by far my most favorite shot I took on this day. It shows how two worlds collide, you will notice the beggar with his dog on the right and all the people that evade him on the left. What would you do in this situation? Donate something since it's Christmas or just pass him without paying any attention since you don't want to support beggars that might be part of organized crime?



Characteristic tradition on Chrimstas is to decorate trees with lights and glitter balls. You will see these trees everywhere, you can't avoid them. And to be honest, why would you? They look fancy!


You will find crowded streets with thousands of people trying to find the perfect last-minute bargain. I never understood why people wait until the very last day until they buy their presents. It doesn't matter what you buy as long as it comes from the heart.

Another thing that particularly attracted my attention were these concrete blocks. They were placed all around the Christmas markets and formed a border. Those who followed the news know that there was a terrorist attack on a Christmas Market in Berlin in the year 2016. The attacker drove into a group of people with a truck and many people died. To prevent these kinds of attacks the police put concrete blocks to stop vehicles.




All in all the people I saw were very happy and enjoyed their time with their friends and family. Eating, drinking or just having a good time and celebrating together is what most people did. In tomorrows post, which will be the second part of this episode, you will see more pictures from the Christmas market.





I hope you enjoyed this episode of TimTravels and don't forget to follow me for more. In two weeks I will go to the Alps for skiing. Breathtaking drone shots and a little video will follow then. Furthermore, I am preparing my South Asia journey in March. I will visit as many different countries as possible. Let me know what you think about Christmas Markets and where you would like to travel next. Don't forget: the best and most creative comment will win 10 SBD!

Steem on,
Tim


Previous episodes of TimTravels


TimTravels - Hello London, nice to see you again! Day #3
TimTravels - Hello London, nice to see you again! Day #2
TimTravels - Hello London, nice to see you again! Day #1
TimTravels - SteemFest² Day #Last Day
TimTravels - SteemFest² Day #4
TimTravels - SteemFest² Day #3
TimTravels - SteemFest² Day #2
TimTravels - SteemFest² Day #1
TimTravels - Cala de Moro
TimTravels - Sa Calobra
TimTravels - ¡Viva España!
TimTravels - Water City! Amusement Park that accepts Bitcoin
TimTravels - A Private Boat Tour - Part 2
TimTravels - A Private Boat Tour - Part 1
TimTravels - Preveli and Kournas Lake - Day 3
TimTravels - Crete, Good Bye Mavic - Day 2
TimTravels - Crete, Agia Galini - Day 1
TimTravels - Kristdala, Sweden
TimTravels - Berlin, Capital of Germany Part 2
TimTravels - Berlin, Capital of Germany Part 1
TimTravels - City of Amsterdam Part 2
TimTravels - City of Amsterdam Part 1
TimTravels - La Ville Lumière: Paris - Part 2
TimTravels - La Ville Lumière: Paris - Part 1
TimTravels - Vienna: Tierpark Schönbrunn (Zoo) + Happy HardFork Steemians!
TimTravels - Vienna: Schloss Schoenbrunn + Gloriette
TimTravels - London: My new Hometown! Part 2
TimTravels - London: My new Hometown! Part 1
TimTravels - A sunny Day in Munich
TimTravels - A Day in Paris
TimTravels - A Day in the Vineyards
TimTravels - Stift Göttweig
TimTravels - Thailand.ReadyForTakeoff
TimTravels - Thailand.Koh Phangan #Day3
TimTravels - Thailand.Koh Tao #Day2
TimTravels - Thailand.Bangkok #Day1

Sort:  

Amazing shots man! Looks like you had another awesome time, great idea for extra reward contest for the coments, your probably the first one :D Steemit feels like a blessing every singe day more.
Thanks for sharing, have a wonderful day n' #keepsteemin! :)

Thanks buddy! In these great times it's important to share

No no Thank you buddy, so much! Steem On :) means and helps a lot<3

Germany is a beautiful country. Und wie Ich sehe sprichst du perfekt Deutsch. Die Weihnachtsmarkt Tradition ist sehr alt und geht möglichweise zurück zum 1200, und sie fing an in der Deutschsprachigen Region Europas.

@timsaid Hola, I must say your style of photography is plenty to keep a person like me hooked! I love photography. The lighting and frame on the Christmas tree ornament is perfect, really. Which intrigued me to look at all your other post in the search of more. This my not be your thing, but I think it would be great if you did a post just on 'how to sharpen your photography' or 'timsaid photography tips'. I think that would be fantastic! I'm always looking to get better, and like I love to say...there's always room for improvement. Thank you for sharing and sounds like your 2018 will be awesome. I'll be watching ;D Best wishes, - @splendorhub

Was living in Berlin this summer and had planned to stay for a year. I was looking forward to these xmas markets. Unfortunately I had to move home so in is bittersweet to see this post.

😁WøW tHîs Pøsť I§ āM@ŻInG😁 I wóUłđ LoV€ tö v!$iť ĞeRmAn¥ Oñ€ ďåy🇩🇪ŤhE f3ŘŘiS ₩HééĹ loöķ$ lIkē @Ĺot Of FűŅ🌲 YoUř PhØtõS ArE Ťop Qú@ĽìT¥ 😎 I ₩0uĹđ LiKé Ťó tRaV€L Tø Ĺ0NdóÑ 2 PŁ^Y FúTBøĹ 😃 Th€ Ônľ¥ PĹ^Će i TrAvëĻéD tő Sô FaR 1s EŁ $AĹvAđ0R HāhÅ 😁 1 ŤhïÑķ țH€ Čhřî$tMA$ MăŔkeT§ ArE ÁmAZíńğ 🐝cuz ŤhÉy KéĔp €VeR¥öNe clø$E & HāāP¥ ✌✌

This was so hard to read haha but creative! EŁ $AĹvAđ0R must be amazing. Greetings!

Haha thanks @timsaid EŁ $AĹvAđ0R is amazing haha 😁

Hopefully your cup of hot Glühwein was "steeming" like hell! ;D

Nachträglich noch frohe Weihnachten, Tim!!

Thanks! Aber bin nicht so der Fan von Glühwein :D

NEWS: timsaid just got flagged by an angry mob of Glühwein bottles

Nice photos and nice place, I want to visit Germany in a closed future, in this 2018... I love Berlin :D

Hey @timsaid, wie schön das du aus unserer Stadt berichtest, denn sie ist eine der schönsten 😉 Ich hoffe du hast den Weihnachtsmarkt genossen und ordentlich Glühwein und andere Leckerein gegessen... 🍷
Ich würde mich gerne mit dir vernetzen! Du machst tolle Bilder von wundervollen Zielen und wir können dich und andere dort günstig hin bringen! Wir posten Reiseschnäppchen von verschiedenen Destinations 🛩 Check out our travel Dels from DE / US / or our other accounts 🚀 an save money on your next trip! Enjoy 💪

Hey! Schreib mir doch gerne eine Email an [email protected]! Danke für die lieben Worte

Writers step in, 10SBD is equivalent to about 80 dollars. Good

The concrete blocks were recently tested in Germany and they don't actually stop trucks properly. The test truck was accelerates to 50KPH and it batted away the concrete like it was nothing and kept going for long enough to kill some people. This is what happens when you don't enforce external borders. You end up with internal borders. By the time you have to put up barriers at freaking Christmas markets the terrorist already has the advantage as he is in the country and can freely drive his truck to any unprotected spot.

German Christmas markets are very beautiful, I would love to visit this country. I'm glad you enjoyed the time spent there and I wish you all the best in 2018!

Congratulations! I hope many more Steemians will start living the dream and continue inspiring us by sharing incredible adventures like these. I enjoy with what you share and your great shots..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76