Shemen Photography - Hands on Frequency Separation

in #photography6 years ago

In the life of a photographer comes different developments. I started my photography lifestyle a while ago and i have come to different levels at my career in photography. I started with a phone camera which was awesome and helped me to learn more about cropping. My pictures werent that awesome but they were okay for visibility. After a while, i acquired my current camera which is Canon EOS 700D.

image.png

The Canon EOS 700D, known as the Kiss X7i in Japan or as the Rebel T5i in the Americas, is an 18.0 megapixel digital single-lens reflex camera made by Canon. It was announced on March 21, 2013 with a suggested retail price of US$849. As a part of the Canon EOS three-digit/Rebel digital line, it is the successor to the EOS 650D/Kiss X6i/Rebel T4i and is the predecessor of both the EOS 750D/Kiss X8i/Rebel T6i and EOS 760D/EOS 8000D/Rebel T6s

From Wikipedia.org

This piece of equipment moved my photography to a new level. I started learning about depth of field and how to capture in manual mode to get the best out of my camera. I learnt and learnt using social media tools such as youtube, facebook, quora and many others. And so i mastered the exposure triangle and all my shots were now sharp and focused. I could shoot in my dreams when need even be. My journey as a photographer has come to a new height. I thought that was all till i compared my pictures with well seasoned photographers. I saw a huge gab between our works. I realised immediately i had to go in for more tutoring.

I spent 3 weeks working under a renowned photographer called favryts in my locality. Below is a sample of his pictures;
31776121_973590969466788_2945760941242843136_n.jpg
31841677_973590722800146_2272452563360022528_n.jpg

31783365_973590899466795_6562980259040329728_n.jpg

My few weeks spent with them was a great turn in my photography life. I started shooting in neutral mode and adjusted some of my shooting styles. The most dramatic change was how colors was rendered when i started using the neutral mode to shoot. Its awesome

Below are pictures of Shemen Photography when i started using Frequency Separation.
IMG_0943-Edit.jpg

IMG_0895-Edit.jpg

This is my mum whom i applied frequency separation and a bit of dodge and burn. My previous pictures were very much straight out of the camera. Below are pictures i took without frequency separation and neutral filter;
Comfort (14).jpg

For now photography is passion and art. There is no correct or bad picture. Every picture has the story it tells. But i'm trying to tell the story better by adding vocabulary to my diction. To all photographers out there blogging on steemit, share your editing styles plus your shooting styles when you take a shot. This will help both your viewers and yourself in the Future. Stay Blessed.

Sort:  

frequency separation ? what it is? never heard of it

Frequency separation is a non destructive editing which allow one to separate texture from skin tone and edit them separately. As in i can edit skin tones separately without affecting the texture of the skin and work on the texture also separately. Its a wonderful technique

Like this...?!?:))
DSC_0018_Luminar2018-edit.jpg

There is some info on youtube. You separate the structure from the skin for instance from the colors and highlights. It is done by using different layers.

The effect will be that you can keep the structure while adjusting color. And the other way around, adjust color without having to worry about messing up the structure.

Thats very true

Great post ..
Simple but wonderful pictures .. Beautiful done well
Thanks for sharing your experience with us‏..

Great post there. Apart from the lessons learnt, i have also come to understand three effective ways of accomplishing more in life.

#1 Play the Game

We have a tendency to take ourselves too seriously. This often results in becoming too stiff and unyielding when it comes to changing our plans and adapting to new situations. Being flexible and able to see how our circumstances can serve us is critical to our success.

#2 Purge the Distractions

First, it’s important to know the distinction between what’s truly good for you and what you use as a distraction. This can be tricky. For example, spending two hours on Facebook isn’t very productive, unless it’s part of your job. When we’re trying to distract ourselves, it’s usually because we’re supposed to do something challenging.

#3 Write Down Ideas to Make Them Count

Our minds are constantly in a bind, always working, chattering and in that noise, good ideas are born, but they can be easily lost. Nurturing the habit of writing down your ideas and thoughts is by far one of the best things you can do. It allows you to remember your creative outbursts, even when you can’t make use of them right away.

These photographs are just next level out of this world. It's clear that you and Favryts are anointed for this beautiful craft. Shoutout @tj4real!!

Thanks @kofibeatz for passing by. Im just trying my best. I hope i will soon get to close to perfection

You're already there in Christ!!

What a great inspirational story! Thank you for sharing it with us!

Truly your works shows that you are good even in the dream world.

Love when you admit you sat under a tutor to learn this.

Yes one can buy a camera and give a shoot. But it takes a student under a great teacher to do it a better way.
@tj4real your works are perfect. Bravo to your tutor.

Amazing photography

Hello. I liked your post, keep it up. Good luck to you and have a nice day :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85