Experimental Photography / Testing a 30x Optical ZoomsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography5 years ago

I've finally got the new camera I was setting my eyes on. I was thinking about it for a few months. Studying alternatives, comparing reviews... etc.

In the end, I've decided I wasn't going to find anything better in this price range, so I went ahead and bought it.

It's a Panasonic DC-TZ90. This camera attracted me for being so different from the one I was using: the Canon IXUS 210.

  • While the Canon IXUS 210 is awesome for Landscape and Street photography, its Zoom Capabilities are extremely limited. With an Optical Zoom of 5x, there were many situations when I wished I had something just a little better.

  • Panasonic DC-TZ90 has the downside of being larger, so it doesn't fit into my pocket. I need to carry a small backpack instead but it's really worth it. So far, I think it's just as good for Landscape and Street photography... but the Zoom Capabilities of this camera are truly spectacular!
    With an Optical Zoom of 30x and a Digital Zoom of 60x, the Panasonic DC-TZ90 allows me to take some photos I couldn't even dream of trying.


Here are a few experiences I did yesterday evening.


Cat #1


I saw this little guy looking at me, at a distance. Perfect for my first Zoom Test.

P1000057.gif

The sun was already starting to hide. The Automatic Flash fired... and I immediately saw the end result would be horrible. I wasn't mistaken.

P1000058.JPG
Flash isn't supposed to be used at this distance.

I tried correcting the White Balance, in vain. The end result was equally crappy.

P1000058_WB.JPG
The Flash had already ruined the photo. No editing could salvage it.

No harm done... I took another photo with the Flash turned off.

P1000060.JPG
In this situation, it's better to turn off the Flash. Now I can see the real colours of the cat.

Please keep in mind that these photos were taken with an Optical Zoom of 30x, the camera's absolute limit.


Dog


My next test was simpler. This dog was not so distant. But it was getting darker...

P1000062.JPG

As soon as he saw me, he stuck his tongue out.

P1000063.JPG

Anyway, I've set the Optical Zoom to 4x or 5x and took a couple of shots at him.

P1000064.JPG

He barks a lot... but he seems friendly.

P1000076.JPG

These were taken with an Optical Zoom of 4x or 5x and the quality seems as good as when using an Optical Zoom of 30x.


Cat #2


When I pass by this place I encounter this little guy a lot of times. He's a very scaredy youngster and runs away as soon as anyone approaches. Another perfect subject for Testing the Zoom Capabilities of this camera.

P1000072.gif

Another failed attempt with the Flash.

P1000073.JPG
Yep, Flash ruined the photo again.

And another failed attempt at correcting the photo by messing up with the White Balance in GIMP.

P1000073_WB.JPG
GIMP is great but performing miracles is something you cannot ask it to do.

Once again, the photo looks a lot better without firing the Flash.

P1000075.JPG
He looks a lot better without the radioactive eyes... doesn't he?

Once again, the Optical Zoom was set to 30x!!!


Conclusion

So far, I'm enjoying the camera. I didn't thought it was going to be this good. With the Optical Zoom set to 30x, and using no tripod, the camera's image stability is really good. A lot better than the Canon IXUS 210 when using an Optical Zoom of just 5x.

I'll make a few more tests on the weekend.


CameraPanasonic DC-TZ90
LocationModivas, Vila do Conde - Portugal
Edited with GIMP

What about you? Which Camera do you prefer for travelling? And why...!?

@trincowski signing out.

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Great shots, Ricardo, good luck with your new camera, I can't wait to see what you will come up with it!

I'm sure I'll have lots of fun... and I'll be able to make shots that I couldn't before.

Yes, you will, Ricardo! It will be fun!

The zoom power is impressive. Congratulation for the new camera. Yay!!

It's really amazing!!! It was well worth the money! But now I'm afraid to travel with it. I might be robbed. Aahahahah!

É da minha vista (ou da óptica) ou estão duas árvores aos xoxos lá ao fundo!? :0
:D

Estão mesmo! :-D

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=trincowski
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=experimental-photography-testing-a-30x-optical-zoom


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @trincowski! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard
Introducing SteemitBoard Ranking

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @trincowski!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.029 which ranks you at #9774 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 53 places in the last three days (old rank 9721).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 227 contributions, your post is ranked at #158.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Cool experiment.
A good approximation of the camera

Cool experiment.
A good approximation
Of the camera

                 - apnigrich


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Hello @trincowski, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70391.42
ETH 3572.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74