Tourists on the note. Smelly soup shkembe chorba. Bulgaria

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Bulgarian cuisine is beautiful, healthy and tasty, but there are surprises in it. There are such dishes that come from Ottoman traditions, which for people who are used to European cuisine may not seem very tasty 😊

For example, the famous Shkembe Chorba soup is a Turkish dish made from cicatrix (calf stomach). Now Shkembe Chorba is considered part of the Bulgarian national cuisine and therefore it is prepared not only from calf, but also from pork and mutton stomachs. Bulgarians call this soup a delicacy, consider it curative. Mainly from a hangover. Bulgarian hangover is a makhmurluk.

Of course, shkembe chorba is served in every restaurant, especially in the mountains and at various resorts, even sea, even balneological, albeit ski.

I have been living in Bulgaria for 12 years and have been familiar with this soup for a long time, I know from what it is made, and I have heard what it tastes like. That is why I never ate it - I just did not order it and, of course, I did not cook it myself. Because I do not like the liver and, in general, the meat is very picky. Since I love fish :-)

However, the old woman is proruha. Last weekend we went to the famous Bulgarian ski resort of Bansko, and there the devil pulled me to order myself in mekhan chkembe chorba. Why I decided that I could eat it - I don’t know 😊 As a result, I had to order another soup, and my husband has a second plate.

Now let me tell you the problem of my relationship with this soup: "mine stinks"! This soup has a very pronounced liver flavor. In simple terms, it is the taste and smell of an unpicked pig (boar). To me as a squeamish person, this is unbearable. I can overcome myself and, probably, in some hungry year, with a cold, I would have eaten it from grief. But then I could not. It was too smelly!

So keep in mind that shkembe chorba itself has a very specific taste, and if it is made from pork stomach (this is permissible according to the Bulgarian recipe), then put out the light.

By the way, the photo shows that there are seasonings next to the plate - they must be served to this soup. In a dark pot red pepper, and in a light sauce of garlic and vinegar. All this is recommended from the heart to fold in the chkeba chorba. But it did not help me.

And finally, the recipe for those interested.

Recipe broth soup

Essential products for 8 servings:

     Tripe 300 gr.

     Fresh milk - 300 ml.

     Butter - 30 gr.

     Red sweet pepper - 2 tsp.

     Flour - one tablespoon.

     Black pepper - 0.5 tsp.

     Garlic - one head.

     Vinegar - 1 one cup coffee (mini).

The approximate cooking time is one and a half hours.

First step.

It is necessary to rinse well and clean the raw scar. In the Bulgarian national cuisine is used as a veal, as pork, and lamb stomach.

The second step.

The scar must be boiled for a long time - about an hour. Cook in water without salt, so that it becomes soft.

The third step.

Pull out the scar from the broth and add hot milk, salt and black pepper to this broth.

Fourth step.

Boiled scar is cut into small pieces, put in a deep frying pan along with pepper and flour, and fried in butter for about one minute, then add two spoons of broth and stir.

Step five.

Grout with a hem shift in a pan with broth and milk, and cook a few more minutes.

Served on the table necessarily with crushed garlic and vinegar.

Thank you for your time and attention.

Follow me for more content to come!

All photos in this blog are taken by me unless otherwise attributed.

[//]:# (!steemitworldmap 41.807636 lat 23.481152 long d3scr)

With love from Bulgaria @varya-davydova

My telegram channel https://t.me/varyadavydovabg

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=varya-davydova
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=tourists-on-the-note-smelly-soup-shkembe-chorba-bulgaria


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in today's Travel Digest #431 and we upvoted it through @steemitworldmap. If you enjoy what we do, consider supporting us by:

Vote for the Daily Traveldigest
Follow our curation trail
Delegate Steempower


The more support we get, the more we can give back! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34