Feels like rain

in #photography6 years ago (edited)


I had trouble sleeping last night because of the heat. It’s unclear when I finally turned in (somewhere between 3 or 4am) but I was out cold this morning. I rolled over and finally got up around 10am to admired the cloudy skies from my bedroom window. I love how refreshing the cool air feels on my skin and the scent left after a rain shower. I wish everyday was like this.

Yesterday’s haul had me itching to snap some photos and the soft natural light spilling in was calling to me. I went downstairs and started gathering a bunch of items to build a set which would match my current mood. You can check out my previous post from earlier today “Rainy days” to get a better look at the items placed in my images. 

I knew I wanted lots and lots of candles, I ended up placing at most 20 of them. A little voice in my head could hear @bleedpoet & @scrawly words of caution, reminding me to be careful while handling fire. Don’t worry, I had it under control! Maybe if I had someone helping me out then I’d throw in more candles. An extra set of hands would actually make lighting them all up less of a pain. Then again, I’ve always been very independent and the hard work ends up feeling more rewarding. 

After a nice evening hanging with friends @caffetto, my day is finally coming to a close. I was able to finish these edit from today’s shoot at home and there’s even a before image of the designed set before I added in the tiny flames. Which reminds me, I need to order more candles. Does anyone have any dripless candles they’d recommend for purchase? 


I’m really pleased with the overall composition and I hope everyone can appreciate it as well.

Thanks for taking the time to read and view my work. 🦊

Sort:  

Fantastic, your risqué and caution play well together. Fabulous composition. The light from the window is almost a shame as it muddies the mirror. Have you tried later at night with a longer exposure?

Thanks so much. You will definitely love the rest of the set then. The mirror is actually just dirty 😅 but the misty look.

That's a beautiful and very artistic photo; reminiscent of certain late 19th century Scandinavian painters.

Interestingly enough, the Red Dragonfly's "neighbor" at the gallery is a candle and incense store. She sells all handmade candles; not cheap, but really nice. I don't think she has a web shop, though...

I’m flattered that you’d make that comparison! Thanks so much @reddragonfly!

Oh bummer. I guess I’ll have to jump on amazon or visit a local retailer to find good candles.

Yesss! Your sets are always gorgeous. I love that antique dressing table. And the candelabras. I can't wait to see more of these, with all the candles.

I love that too, waking up to the scent of rain. It's so refreshing. I'm often cold, so I like the warmer weather, but after living on the east coast as a kid, and then moving to the west coast before having kids of my own, there's a special place in my heart for rainy days. I especially like the mist/drizzle.

I’ve always wanted a beautiful vanity but it took awhile to find my ideal one. Then this showed up and I jumped at the opportunity to get it. I’m glad I did because it’s fun to photograph with.

Ahh, I too love mist. It creates such a magical element.

Ah love the way you disappear on the second photo, and it feels as if it was only a ghost image.

Oh!! I love a good horror theme. If you liked that then you’ll enjoy some of the other images that I took. :)

Those candelabras are very pretty, I understand why you keep them around. But always be careful with old stuff, I'm glad you take extra care ^_^.

They are so pretty!!! And yes, I will be careful. I need others to examine my items before I use them. XD

Well, I can say your day ended well enough.

Happy for you

Thanks! A busy fulfilling day is always the best! :)

I love the light and tone of this image and again, as I've said before, I love your furniture! It has an almost old Dutch masters feel like a Vermeer quality.

I really lucked out on both the lighting and the furniture! I’m glad you liked it @donnadavisart!

The mirror, the night table, and the candlestick give a toco of Baroque atmosphere that pleases me very much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86