Seaside melancholy compositions

in #photography6 years ago

I woke up today with the salty taste of the air on the beach in my mouth.
Felt like I've been orally fucked by some wave. While brushing my teeth I checked to see if I don't have some sand between them too, that's how real it felt.

It's already almost 20th of May and I only had one incursion to the seaside. This is not life. I have to do something about it...

VON_0600.jpg

The lonely umbrella: 30 lei/day in the season

As soon as the season starts, my head is only there. I have to take advantage of the first part of June man! That's because at the end of the month, towards July, the crowd is gonna make everything impossible on the Romanian seaside. It's getting Beijing style in Mamaia: towels glued to each other, sun beds with no more than 40cm between them so you can feel the neighbour's farts and thick-necked idiots who are going to ruin it for everybody.

VON_0381.jpg

Sometimes the sea looks calmer in reflexions

While roaming through my Lightroom in the morning, developing some shots I made in Brașov (that I will make a full post about), I stumbled upon some compositions I snapped 2 and a half weeks ago. Some stills that I took in the peace and serenity that the beginning of the season transmits. There is space to take shots and compose them. Searching for them is fun while there are few people around. When the pack of semi-naked people roam the walkway is truly impossible to make anything.

Moreover, the temperature in May keeps people dressed while roaming the beach. I'm not shy but it will be damn hard to get anything out of the camera with 10 fat ladies running around their children in full summer. While other 20 are posing for their boyfriends and the traditional "seaside show off pic".

VON_0538.jpg

The elegance of canned beer

I know... I'm just an old hag, pointing my camera around and playing judge. I'm sure that people living in Constanța, one of our main cities at the seaside, are full and tired of the "full season" festivities. There's also this frenzy construction developing going on in what used to be "the untamed part" of Mamaia (main resort around these parts) like there's not going to be any tomorrow. Apartment flats popping up like mushrooms. In 3 years there's barely any green space left.

VON_0404.jpg

There still is some wilderness left around the seaside but finding it requires a car and time

I've roamed these areas pretty much in the last years (especially by bike) as I've taken the time to spend my vacations and weekends there. So getting the interesting places to shot (in my vision), like I was at home, were easy as I knew where to look.
There's beauty and then there's beauty in the ugliness on the Romanian seaside. Guess for the right photographer (and the right pair of lenses) stories could unfold also during high season...

I think I'll try my luck then too. 'till then, some more pics below.

VON_0501.jpg

The "famous" walkway in Constanța keeps both the perfume of old (like the insides of an old newspaper) but also the new (like the smell of tasty seafood) from the restaurants around

VON_0449.jpg

When there's heat, there's dust

VON_0493.jpg

Well, here's a good place for spartans to throw their babies off

VON_0508.jpg

"If your fridge is empty, fill it with fridge magnets"

Sort:  

I love your seaside pictures

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29