These photos say anything to you?...

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

...cause they sure as hell say a lot to me. Maybe that's because I took them, go figure.

The best damn investment I made in years! That's all I can say about my Nikon. Now I remember why they are my favourite camera manufacturers. Sorry Canon people, I know that this can stir up quite a fight, but the fact that the main controls are so well placed makes this design as close to perfection as it can get (given today's technology).

VON_0799.jpg

I had to wait 10 minutes for the dust, that I stirred by passing by with the car on this agricultural road I was roaming on, to settle in order to take this pic

I got into the old game that I was enjoying in the past with my old camera, the "find perspectives and patterns" games. Taking the camera with me when I'm leaving the apartment became a vice. It's hanging on my neck even when I'm taking the child to the playground. I hit here already like 3 times in the head with the lens, while lifting her up on the swing chair cause the damn thing keeps rocking back and forth when you lean. I now have this new thing of wearing it, like a man purse, when I'm handling the baby. Would be a shame to get her knocked unconscious with the camera.

VON_1334.jpg

The communist "match boxes" are getting fresh paint after 28 years at least. Still ugly as hell but at least they make for some great patterns sometimes

Don't expect to see in me a great photographer. I'm taking off where I left this craft more than 7 years ago. And on top of that, I'm weird. I go on looking for things that look interesting in my eye. I like shadows (I think you already noticed that) and obscure landscapes. Being afraid of too much exposure got me checking things from the perspective of the semi-blind man. That one that has cataract and the light doesn't get to the nerve in the same amount it does on a healthy man. There are silhouettes in the shadows and the audience depends a lot on their imagination.

VON_1299.jpg

There should be 3 cats in the picture but Lady Fortune made them pitch black for me. Using the "onboard" flashlight of the Nikon is not an alternative, trust me.

Patterns are more easily found at night. That's why smartphones suck for pictures.
Yes, you can lie that you can rely on you trusty "whatever camera phone" you have in your pocket but nothing compares to the old mirror on the sensor capture. In broad daylight, some smartphones can be more "catchy" than a bulky camera. It may be even smarter than you, the guy behind the shutter. The damn things are so well balanced that they can snap a better composition than the one you intended. Moreover, they are not so "threatening" though if you ask me, there is more logical expectation that you will get spied on by somebody with a small camera not the idiot in front of you, wearing 100 kilos of gear and a camera bigger than his head.

VON_1297.jpg

Spent something like 15 minutes, in front of a building, to take that shot; twerking and getting in all kind of stupid positions in order to try and get this manually made pattern. Few people passed by. They all consider me a loonatic for sure.

BUT!

You can use a smartphone up to some extent. There's nothing like the mechanics behind a camera. That phisical way it grabs the picture from the air, it's like an expert magician makes something disapear in front of your eyes. I was playing yesterday with an old Zenith camera that @littleone salvaged from a guy selling it (mainly for the lens) and I was astonished by the fact that there are no batteries inside the Zenith. Yeah! Magical. The incredible way of storing energy through springs. HA! One stores it's own power inside the springs (while arming) and releases it through the shutter button in order to CATCH the light for just a tiny amount of time, just enough to make its impression on the special, chemical thing that the film roll is. FASCINATING.

VON_0963.jpg

Inside the small flea market I use to go just to scan the relics around, some old Romanian movie hero bedside picture pops-up. They were the "Avengers" of today.

Situations are the other things I like to capture. Sometimes these situations make sense only to me I guess; or in the best case scenario, my fellow Romanians can relate to them.
Oh! How I'd wish we could get each other's culture better. To be able to get deep into the details of each culture, of the everyday situations they discuss and care altogether. Only the Americans, the Brits, the Italians and maybe the French get that privilege of having other know intimately their cultural trickeries. That's how they sell their "content" products better than the others.

Sort:  

Yeah, the tragic conflict between lightweight-piece-of-shit-smartphone-camera, which you can use in broad daylight and goddamn brick that is (any) Nikon DSLR. Especially when that Nikon comes with 18-105 mm lens, that my friends nicknamed "grenade launcher". One of them even asked - are you compensating for something?. I wish I had something compact like Fujifilm X series - light, but capable. It's too damn expensive, though.

I sometimes think of something along the lines of what you've said about details of culture. How can I sell (or rather share) my culture to foreigners? Though, I'm not sure if we really know intimately French, Italian or even American cultural trickeries. We know what they "sell" to us. We know their global culture, but do we really know the trickeries of Yorkshire, Auvergne or Alaska? True "babel tower" lies not in the languages, but in cultural nuances. Yet there is some fun and beauty in explaining these details.

By the way, what model of Nikon do you have? And could you advise me on buying second-hand lenses? I'm currently wondering if it's better to buy prime Helios lens (Zenith)+adapter or old Nikkor AF 35-70 (zoom)? The price is pretty much the same.

You are totally right and I, of course, exaggerated with the "intimate knowledge" of those people :) I do have a lot of unanswered questions for a lot of movie lines I didn't get because of some reference I had no idea what it was. So yeah... we know each other even less.
About the lenses... look man, you are barking at the wrong door :)) I mean, yeah... I bought this Nikon d610 and I do have some knowledge about photography but I'm not an experienced photographer. But if you ask me what I would buy tomorrow I know it would be a fixed focal (I don't know what you were thinking about in terms of focal distance for the Helios).
But that's just me :)
What are you shooting with?

Quotes are sometimes non-translatable, no matter how hard we'd try. Shame, really. I've observed that speaking in movie quotes often works as some sort of code between men. Women usually don't get it, even if they know the movies. My father once met with his friends and they were talking using movie quotes only. I understood 3/4 of the references, my mother was completely dumbfounded :)

Don’t be mysoginistic man :)) I tend to follow that boat and my girlfriend is reading what I’m writing in Steemit usually. I’ll say goodbye to pussy for a week for this! But sorry... how da’ fuck one can start getting initiated in movie culture without even trying to watch SW :)
In terms of lenses and camera... my old Nikon had only manual focus lenses...because I thought art is in the manual. Stupid kid. Look man, if you want to do street photography (which I and especially @vargart are trying), manual focus is a bitch. Is slow, untrusty and until you’ve managed to get a good focus the subject either left the shot or it moved. I would do experiments with a 2nd lens but I’d keep my main lens an AF and a focal length of smth between 35 and 50mm. But that’s just me. :)

I just had that impression, because I know only one girl remembering film quotes religiously, and quite a few guys who do that. That's not misogyny, just my flawed theory.
Anyway, thanks for the insight on lenses. Much appreciated!

I'm shooting with Nikon D3100. It belongs to my gf, but I'm using it way more often so I keep it in my flat ;)
Something wrong happened with its lenses (I suppose) at some point - after focusing them at one point and then changing focal length, it de-focuses, photos come out completely blurry and out of focus. There's nothing wrong, when AF is used. That's why I am thinking about an cheap alternative (both lenses I mentioned cost below 45$). I'm thinking about 58 mm lens with f/1.4, because I've seen photos my father took using his canon+these lens - clear shots of falling stars without tripod, yeah. And I shoot some photos with Zenith when I was a kid, so I'm kinda sentimental towards Helios :) However I don't know if I can handle lack of flexibility in focal length and pure manual settings - after all I'm taking mostly street photos. I'm not looking for professional advice, just asking opinions ;)

I really like your photos! I agree with you that smartphone photography sucks compared with a real camera. ;0)

@therealwolf 's created platform smartsteem scammed my post this morning (mothersday) that was supposed to be for an Abused Childrens Charity. Dude literally stole from abused children that don't have mothers ... on mothersday.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@prometheusrisen/beware-of-smartsteem-scam

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98