Didital photography Auto modes

in #photography6 years ago

P1010456.JPG

I've decided to learn a little about digital photography. My camera (Panasonic Lumix) was given to me as a gift last Christmas and I really didn't have any idea how to use it properly. So after spending a couple of hours googling and taking a few photos, I think I may have learnt a little on how to use the automatic modes. So I thought I might share what I have learnt. Hopefully it will help others like me that are looking at a less complicated and more basic lesson on how to use these modes.

Automatic mode for digital cameras

These settings are great for beginners and most times will give good results no matter what your subject.

When using automatic mode its best to take photos in early morning, late in the day or on cloudy days without harsh sun and shadows.

81YSasGu8dL._SL1500_-600x525.jpg

IA mode: (Intelligent auto mode.) Pictures are taken with automatic shutter speed and aperture value settings.

P mode: ( Programmed Automatic.) This is a mode that’s between automatic and manual. In P mode, you get to control a few settings. You can choose to use flash or not, your ISO speed, exposure compensation and white balance. Your camera will automatically adjust the other settings

Creative control symbol
scene.jpg

Creative control mode: these automatic modes apply special effects, such as giving a photo a faded image or a pale colour tone or black-and-white appearance.

SCN: (Scene mode) This is still an automatic mode but gives you a more artistic control over your images. You can choose your Scene modes to suit certain types of photographs, such as portraits and action shots.

The following photos were taken in the morning using different automatic modes

IA mode

This photo was taken around an hour after the others. Its the same rose but the petals have opened.

P1030145.JPG

P mode

pmorn.JPG

Creative control mode

This effect emphasizes the colour to make pop art pictures. I find this picture very similar to the one taken in P mode.

effectpopartbrightmorn.JPG

Creative control mode

This effect adds a bright, airy and soft feel to the image

efectairymorn.JPG

Creative control mode

This effect adds a dark relaxing feel to the image

effectdarkmorn.JPG

SCN mode

The mode I chose for this is titled Distinct Scenery

effectscene distinctscenerymorn.JPG

OK!, that's what I have learnt so far about the Auto modes on a digital camera. I am still learning so if anyone would like to correct me on any mistakes or give some tips or advice I would very much appreciate it.

Hope you enjoyed this post!

Sort:  

Brilliant and amazing photography @what-is-life. I truly, loved it.🌳

Thanks for sharing this post.

Have a glorious day!

you always have nice things to say, thank you for that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71