Making the Most of the Fading Light of Fall

in #photography6 years ago

The days are getting shorter.

This means my walk back to the train is getting darker. It's only going to get worse, and then the end of daylight savings time in November will put a stop to natural light at the end of the work day.

RedCrossingCloseAdjusted.jpg

It's just a part of the natural cycle, I suppose. Although I would like to live someplace that wasn't subject to the change of seasons. It's a shame I can't transplant the job I enjoy and the city I love to the equator. I love tropical heat. And it would be such a blessing not to have to adjust my entire way of life every few months, just as I'm getting into a routine.

DenimJacket.jpg

Clothes are getting thicker and there's not so much exposed skin on the streets.

My pictures are likely to get a bit more grainy - for as long as I'm able to take them at all. With the kind of candid street photography I do, I set my shutter speed to 1/200th of a second and let the camera (phone) work out the aperture and ISO. When it's dim, the photos don't come out with the same crispness. But they do take on an artistic, impressionistic character, especially when I zoom in and crop close.

CellPhoneLeavesTN.jpg

Any longer exposures just come out blurry. Again, some confidence in what the light was going to be at a certain time of day throughout the year would be another boon of living further south. But then, I suppose I would miss the pleasures of shifting shadows and falling leaves.

We're still in the "shoulder season" right now, so not all is lost quite yet. And fortunately I've taken enough photos over the summer to keep me busy editing and sharing through the cold dark months ahead.

What a lovely fall dress:

YellowDress.jpg

Short of moving, there's nothing to be done but hunker down and bundle up. Let's keep banging our drums and making what music we can until the light returns.

DrumKid.jpg

How about you? Do you enjoy the change of seasons? Or would you be happier if the light and the weather stayed the same all year round?


AtopyCamera.png

DividerBorder.jpg


Unless otherwise stated, photography is the work of the author. Feel free to copy, remix and share photographs from this post according to the terms of a Creative Commons Attribution Sharealike 4.0 International license.

Camera divider and signature illustration by @atopy.

If you'd like to read more, you can check out a categorized catalog of my posts on Steemit here.

AtopySignature.png

Sort:  

Fall light is the best light!

Beautiful autumn has a different temperament
Really great article
Each chapter has its effect

Same here, day is shorter and temperature is going down. Not so much it can be sometimes, but jet, autumn is knocking @winstonalden.
But, let's not forget important thing today my dear working friend

it's friday !

Oddly enough, I kind of like the darkness of winter... As long as it isn't rainy (snow is okay!). That said, I will miss the booking and walks of summer and the autumn/spring seasons...

Autumn also brings about the deluge of leaves from all the trees in our street... Sometimes it is just a never ending battle to get it all away and out of our garden!

I positively hate cold weather and wearing too many layers of clothes. At least there's been some talk about scrapping the daylight savings thinghy - maybe next year our masters in Brussels will actually vote on it :(

Looks like no Fall again this year in Arkansas. The temp has gone from 85-90 to 65-70. A suppose like last year the leaves won't turn colors, just turn brown and drop off! That's one thing I really do miss about New England... jumping in the car and driving up to NH or VT.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89