Walk With Me Through Record Heat - Public Gardens and Downtown Crossing in High Summer

in #photography6 years ago

Boston has been deliriously hot for the past couple days.

We've been hitting temperatures in the mid 90s, with lots of humidity.

I love this weather! Here in New England, it only lasts for a couple days at a time.

Days like this are like a handful of gems, scattered across July and August, lost almost as soon as they are presented. While the people around me groan and pant and sweat, I'm feeling like I've finally come home to a place where the atmosphere doesn't want to kill me.

New England winters are brutal, and the spring and fall never really get that comfortable either. But right now things are just perfect.

HotTN.jpg

People really dress down for this heat, and that makes for some fun photographs.

I generally don't. Although the jacket may stay home, I keep the shirt and tie on as I walk around the city. I'm grateful for it whenever I step back into an air conditioned building or train. It really amazes me that, a century ago, people wore full suits in this weather as a matter of course. And that was in the days before air conditioning!

FrogPond1.jpg

Temperamentally - at least weather-wise - I should probably move to southern Florida. Or maybe central America.

FrogPond2.jpg

But all of my stuff is here. Not to mention the people and the job and the city that I love. So I'll probably tough it out for 40 more winters and do my best to enjoy the heat when it comes.

DogWalk.jpg

These pictures are all from yesterday, which was muggy and mostly overcast. A nice breeze drifted through the urban canyons, laden with sweat and seawater and all the scents of concentrated living.

The streets were a little more empty than usual. I suppose a lot of people preferred to remain indoors, and a lot of others probably made their way out of the city for the 4th of July holidays.

IceCreamBabyStroller.jpg

I got a kick out of this young mother's summer outfit, as well as the man's tee-shirt proclaiming an unusual devotion to ice cream. I guess this was the day to celebrate it!

SkinNoSkin.jpg

I really wanted to get a better juxtaposition of these women in full burkas with the sports-bra stroller-pusher, but this will have to do. Or maybe the one below. Two very different approaches to handling the heat, for sure.

FriedDoughBurkas.jpg

I think I would have asked the man where to find the ice cream, though. It really wasn't fried dough kind of weather.

Anyway, they weren't the only Muslims walking around the city. I actually saw more burkas yesterday than I have in much more comfortable weather. Maybe they were practicing some form of penance.

MuslimSlob.jpg

But I guess, in this faith, the dudes get to be comfortable?

Let's hit the ATM, so we can go shopping.

ATM-Machine.jpg

The above strikes me as the summertime version of that scene from A Christmas Story where the kid licks the frozen pole and gets his tongue stuck. This might not end well...

Gabby.jpg

You ever notice that some women never stop talking? What do you suppose she's going on about? Her next tattoo? Or how bloody hot it is?

How about that - I've baited women and Muslims in the same post. Who's next? Mall shoppers? Hand-talkers?

Gesture.jpg

One thing will always remain constant, though. Hot weather or cold, long dress or short-shorts, people gonna roam out with their phone out.

GirlDress.jpg

Happy 4th of July.

Stay cool. Or hot, as you prefer!


AtopyCamera.png

DividerBorder.jpg


Unless otherwise stated, photography is the work of the author. Feel free to copy, remix and share photographs from this post according to the terms of a Creative Commons Attribution Sharealike 4.0 International license.

Camera divider and signature illustration by @atopy.

If you'd like to read more, you can check out a categorized catalog of my posts on Steemit here.

AtopySignature.png

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-04T14:49:36
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 228.70/200.00
Total Photos: 34
Total comments: 12
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Of course these 'gem days' to you are my "horrid days" I love New England weather in Spring and Autumn, my perfect temps in mid 60s F. Oh well, I'll have to just sizzle away but it better break soon. :)

Ugh! The humidity is the worst! I'd never make it in the city the past few days (ever, really, but especially in the heat)...I just want to sleep....
but I am also the woman all in black.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85