Monochrome Monday, and a Streak of Red

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

A couple of weeks ago I bought a small bonsai tree. I bought it from a street vendor who promised and assured me that it could be an indoor tree and would thrive in a greenhouse.

Well, it didn't.

I had always wanted a bonsai (and I still do) and, in particular, I had wanted one that I could use as a centre-piece of for table top photos. Fun photos. With toys. (No, not those toys... family toys). Because I do have a lot of toys (...). I'm speaking of lego's, of course. A bonsai tree is just the right size tree to pose with Lego minifigs.

Alas, the poor bonsai died. But I did use this as an opportunity to host a memorial. Minifigs from all genre's came to pay their respects.

_DSC6125 copy.JPG

This image serves as both my #monochromemonday entry for today (Monday), hosted by @old-guy-photos, as well as my entry into @axeman's weekly Black and White contest (https://steempeak.com/photography/@axeman/black-and-white-photography-contest-week-009-winners-announcement-week-010-3-steem-150-photos-600-snax-in-prizes-submission-post).

After coming across a post from @supdork, I'm thinking that perhaps my mini-fig collection does, indeed, count as dorky (and I've got so much more!) #supdork

@dswigle also through out a challenge to add to monochrome monday by also meeting the #mondayred #colorchallenge (sic - #colourchallenge) by @kalemandra. Challenge accepted! I had to dig, but I knew I had a flower picture somewhere.

_DSC4895.ARW.jpg

As for the type of flower this is, I've done extensive research, and I've discovered that it is, in fact, a flower of the red variety, native and related to those other flowers that grow in soil.

(c) All images and photographs, unless otherwise specified, are created and owned by me.
(c) Victor Wiebe

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

Sort:  

when I first look I thought it's a real people sitting there but when I looked closely, it's not. It's lego in monochrome, by the way is that a real tree?

thanks for sharing at #pypt discord

It is, or was, a real tree. It was a bonsai tree that had died.

Thanks for sharing and engaging with Pimp Your Post Thursday.
You’ve earned SHADE tokens

It would be the same tree picked by Charlie Brown.

I have one of those too!

Oh I love this! Paying tribute to a tiny tree with legos! So much fun.

Thank you! Legos are perhaps my favourite toys these days.

Haha so cool! It actually remind me a scene from Game of Thrones.
Such a shame the tree didn't survive though.

Thanks! I am saddened about the tree. I'd like to get another, but think I'll do some more research first.

Lol... I shouldn't laugh... Sorry about the bonsai... :(
The memorial is sweet though :)

Thank you. :) At least I got the one good picture! And I had no idea just how many mini-figs I really had; this didn't even include my crypt of random arms and torso's!

😮 ...errrr, good turnout....
Random arms and torsos could have been added to the mourned... ;)

Well, it is getting close to Halloween. Maybe I could find a way to string the pieces to the tree! :)

Hahahaha... wow! What a statement... :D

Haha! Howdy sir wwwiebe! It's too bad the tree didn't make it, any idea why? I heard those things are very expensive, how much did you lose on yours?

It wasn't too bad; I think it was $20, so I'm not terribly dissapointed. Will need to do some more research on the right one to get, I guess.

Oh, I thought they were hundreds or thousands of dollars but maybe that's the real ancient ones. I've always been fascinated by those too.

What a cool shot and a shame it didnt last maybe next time
I have always wanted a Bosnia tree as well maybe i will try one day

Thanks! I had wanted to shoot with the minifigs anyway. At least they came to pay their respects. ;)

Yes was so nice of them to pay such respect with such a huge crowd :)

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

Really cool post. Good job!

Thank you! Was fun to put together.

LOL....

I loved the idea that all these Star Wars mini-figs are hanging around the tree and zenning out!!!

Brilliant. And yes, would have been better had the tree not died....

Thanks for sharing on #PYPT 😊🙏🏽☯️

Yeah, I'm a little bummed about it, but I'll do some more research and get one that I'm better able to take care of. Thanks for dropping by!

Thanks for sharing and engaging with Pimp Your Post Thursday.
You’ve earned SHADE tokens

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06