More Crappy Camera Photos from the Art Museum

in #photography5 years ago

My little, pocket sized, ancient 1 Megapixel Generic-Brand Digital Camera (MGBDC) has been making the rounds with me. Over the weekend it went with me to the Delaware Art Museum and, though it did not take any pictures inside the museum, it did take some outside in the sculpture garden.

I did do some editing to these photos after taking them. A brief discussion I had with @insaneworks made me realise that every photo is going to at least go through some colour correction, regardless of which camera takes it, and so I've decided to give this camera a fighting chance as well.

Yes, the Copeland Sculpture Garden. This could have done for #bouldersunday too, I guess. I really pumped up the contrast on this photo and darkened it without under-exposing it. The picture really did become much more vibrant.

IMG_0040.JPG

The museum's most famous sculpture is this Crying Giant. I don't know why it's crying, but it is. I've photographed this giant a few times with other cameras. One of those other pictures is my most widely seen picture on Google Locations. I performed the same types of edits as with the boulder above, but even with some simple edits you can begin to see pixelations and bleeding of colours, particularly in the sky.

IMG_0036.JPG

Without the ability to control any of the exposure-triad (ISO, shutter speed, aperture) it becomes very difficult with this camera to not over or underexpose pictures. It's easy for any particular image to be washed out, as can be seen with the next two pictures. This neat looking sculpture is almost irradiated by sunlight. Ultimately I increased the light source a little more in editing to give the sculpture something of a surreal look, something Link might find in a various side-quest in The Legend of Zelda. Maybe it could be a teleport portal to a dungeon!

IMG_0045.JPG

The light was a problem with this photo too. I thought using the one sculpture as a frame for the more distant was a neat effect, but the light bleaches out anything in the background. The picture was salvageable, to an extent.

IMG_0046.JPG

Without a doubt, the biggest obstacle I have with this camera is the lack of a viewfinder and, as a result, difficulty in centering the photo the way I want and gauging the field of view. This is evident in this last photo.

IMG_0035.JPG

Ultimately I'll be able to learn this camera's nuances and figure out the sweet spot. This is turning out to be a fun little crappy camera.

(c) All images and photographs, unless otherwise specified, are created and owned by me.
(c) Victor Wiebe

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

Sort:  

These are really nice, in a way, they have these ...olden-times feel to the shots... Good luck with figuring this camera's sweet spots, @wwwiebe ! :)

1megapixel.... kinda a novel tech, by now, i guess? XD

Thank you! It's now a fun challenge to undertake to see just how far I can push this camera. :)

One megapixel..now that feels ancient. You can't really find anything older than this without putting in notable amount of effort...

The photos actually still look pretty good, lol. Although I'm quite forgiving towards photos in general, as long as they don't hurt the eye I'll take it :) And the sculptures are quite interesting as well. Who knows if there's a hidden switch or voice command that you can issue to turn it into a portal...

Thank you! I'm actually pretty impressed with how these turned out, too. It's now a personal challenge to see just how far I can push this little beastie and it's two AA batteries of sheer image processing power!

You have a 1 megapixel camera? Do you store it next to your Betamax player? 😉😜

I think you should change the hash tag to #crappycameraphenomenalphotos. You definitely got some cool captures with it - even the slightly off-center photo looks good, and if you cropped a smidge more off the bottom, it would look like you were aiming for the sun shining through the lush greenery.

For the longest time, I was stubbornly refused to do any kind of correction on my photos - in my brain, if you tinkered with what came off your camera, it was somehow "cheating" (I'm thinking it was some kind of allergic reaction to Instagram...😂). Now I can't imagine not touching up the exposure, or editing out unsightly things (bird poop comes to mind) before sharing my shutterbugging with the world.

This post just goes to show, it's not the camera that makes the photo great, it's the person behind the lens. Nicely done, Victor! 😊

Well, you know what is said about megapixels; it's not the size of the megapixel that counts, it's how it's used. :)

Seriously though, I appreciate the kind words. I've started looking for other old crappy cameras now, but am thinking I'm going to have a hard time finding one older than this one. It's a gem!

Still nice pictures @wwwiebe. Not what you are used to. Cameras are so off now days. My cell phone takes better pictures than my Canon PowerShot SX110. In fact, that is outdated 😢

That's so true! Cell phones can take really good pictures and they're always with you. I need to work up the courage to use this old camera instead of my phone for pictures.

Congratulations @wwwiebe! This post was selected by the Power House Creatives as today's Rally Upvote Post :)

You can find the community announcement on Discord :) and it has also been shared on our FB Page and Twitter feed.

PHC-Footer-05.gif

That's awesome, thank you!

Although you speak of 1 Megapixel, as if it was the worst in the world, there will never be anything like those roll cameras, that if the openings were damaged the photos and lost all work, where you could not know if the photo went well or badly, if not until after developing, and any kind of edition was impossible, hahaha.

Hah, you make a good point! At least there is some instant gratification with the digital camera, even of this quality. With film it's all or nothing.

Wow, a whole megapixel! Now that is technology! Having said that, there are some interesting effects as a by product of over exposure. I like to think that was deliberate and artistic effect on the photographer's side 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Deliberate... yeah... yes! It was... deliberate. :)

My personal preference is for darker photos than what over exposed ones would allow, but I think you're right in that there are some interesting effects to be had. It'll need to be something I practice with.

Aha, I knew it was on purpose 😉 I'm sure you'll get the most out of that camera yet!

Posted using Partiko Android

Viktor that shitty camera and you made nice pictures I love that place in Holland we have a similar one with old airplanes

Thank you! Honestly, I originally thought that this would be a mostly silly exercise, but I'm really enjoying this little camera and learning what I can do with it.

Would love to see pictures of the museum you mention!

I have seen some photography classes start out students with a camera like that to show them that it is not the camera, but, the photographer that makes the pictures, to a certain extent.

Great shots! I can hardly wait to see you in about a month with that.

!tip

You know, I was actually just thinking that same thing. My son even has a photography class in school next year, and I might suggest that to him.

If it stops raining today this camera is going with me for a Wednesday Walk.

Thanks for the kind words!

I think that is a most excellent idea! Because if you can't do anything with a little something starting in the middle surely doesn't make any sense to me. Awesome idea dad!

Have a great Wednesday walk! I haven't even got on it yet.

!tip

🎁 Hi @wwwiebe! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Tree Tuesday Brought From Me To You Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

I think you did great with your little camera @wwwiebe it sure is green in Delaware, everything is dry and dead in Texas.

Posted using Partiko Android

The museum is in the 'rich' part of Delaware. You should see my yard! I have more grass growing in my flower beds than on the ground. Maybe I should make it all a flower bed!

Thanks for the kind words!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13