I Don't Do Wedding Photography (but here are some of my wedding photos)

in #photomag5 years ago

I am not a wedding photographer. It is not a pursuit that suits me or interests me, but recently I was honored to be roped into helping to photograph the weddings of two very good friends, and I could not refuse. I was not the primary photographer; other, better wedding photographer friends took on the bulk of the responsibility and freed me to roam around and take candid photos, to experiment a little without the full weight of expectation and responsibility on my shoulders, and I have to admit that while I do not like photographing weddings, still, I did have fun.

I'm not @jarvie, @gabyoraa, @vtravels or @skiesandsports, but as a total newbie to weddings, I got a few photos that I'm proud of and wanted to share with you all - and I'm open to your feedback - not that I plan to do this again if I can help it (don't call me!). ;)

DSC_0405Edit.jpg

DSC_6402Edit.jpg

DSC_6880Edit.jpg

DSC_6722Edit.jpg

Sort:  

Looking good!

This post has been upvoted by @photomag and it's curie curation trail after manual review
Please join the community and become a photomag curator in the @c-squared discord server and vote for the @c-squared witness here .

Thank you!!! :D

Dang look at those fireworks!! I'd love to have a shot like that.

Well, dang, @jarvie wanting to have a wedding shot that I took? That makes me feel good! And I would love to see you do some wedding fireworks photos... :D

Hey @derekkind. I really love the way you take your amazing photographs, and would love to have you take part in @promo-mentors steem challange. Here is the current promo-mentors' Steem Challenge. Why should you join, you may ask yourself. The aim of this steem challenge, is to reachout to some many other people around the world who are yet to join Steemit, also it helps to show investors, how steem has blessed some many lifes and how it's still gonna and finally you stand a chance to win 30 steem.

I hope to hear from you soon, @derekkind. I tried chatting you up on discord but I couldn't find you. You can me up on discord by the name "menoski" and if you can't get to me, you can chat the founder of @promo-mentors, @futurethinker. And if you can't get any of us, just kindly indicate you are interested in the steem challenge by replying this comment.

Thanks

There is no better job for a wedding photographer than to be freed me to roam around and take candid photos. I think that i could do that kind of wedding photography.
Joe Buissink has an interesting thing in his wedding photography, his second is really his primary photographer :D

Photos are great, the one with the fireworks is fenomenal, and also probably really great planed out. Lighting is great on it.

That....that actually makes so much sense, having the primary photographer be the one not taking the standard and expected stuff... interesting!

And thanks! I was working with the other guys on the firework one (and with the bride, who is an awesome photographer herself). The idea for the specific composition was mine but it was born out of our discussions about this location and was just a last minute "hey let me try one more" after the first ideas were complete...which is why it was such a fun wedding - hanging out with friends and being able to collaborate creatively. :D

if you get some time check him out. i think there is something on youtube. has some interesting takes on photography and some technics.

you all did great on that one. everything was spot on

Posted using Partiko Android

Okay, I will, thanks, Marko! :)

Hi @derekkind!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.376 which ranks you at #2294 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 2291).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 199 contributions, your post is ranked at #25.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I don't do travel... but I do get around ;-)

"I'm not a wedding photographer but here's a stunning photo of a couple in front of fireworks that is super freaking good"

Very good shots. The first one is really stunning. What lucky friends!

Thank you, Sue!

Congratulations @derekkind! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34