Photography: Icelandic horses 🐴 - A competition by @dboontje 📷steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photomag6 years ago

@dboontje organised a competition to show him what you can do with a picture you shot. What can some small edits to a picture do to the final image. Can we convince him to start editing pictures from now on?

The picture for the contest

What did I do to create this picture? Well I started with this picture.

Icelandic horses
Before

Wanted the brown horse to look a little bit darker, with some highlights. Yeah I hate them in my own hair, but with those punky horses I like it. The white horse I wanted to fade away a little bit in the white background. As if it was appearing out of nowhere to kiss the dark horse.

Steps I took to create this image in Lightroom:

  • Changed the color temperature
  • Changed some of the tint
  • Upped my exposure a little bit
  • Added some contrast
  • Lowered the highlights
  • Added some shadows
  • Lowered the whites
  • Added some Blacks
  • Raised the clarity slider
  • Removed some vibrancy
  • Removed some saturation
  • Changed some colors (Red, Orange and Green mostly)

Icelandic horses
After

@dboontje thanks for creating this wonderful contest. Keep up the good work! 😀👍

Please Follow, Upvote and Resteem

If you like my content, don't forget to upvote this post and follow me for more every day life stories! Also, I will be happy if you leave a comment to tell me your thoughts and resteem this post to share my work!



Travelfeed


travelfeed

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord. How does travelfeed work? Simple just use the tag #travelfeed in your travel posts (min. 250 words) for a chance to be curated!


Sort:  

YES I love the end result! Especially the textures in the hair of the right horse. If you like doing this kind of thing you might want to follow @photogames where sometimes 'edit my picture' games are played as well :-) I'm less active in the photogames now but I've had a lot of fun with it in the past.

Hehe funny you mention this one. Just before my trip I heared from @photogames at the Steemit Surfers Discord because of the beach picture contest. Will keep an eye on those contests. Because I really like to do things with my pictures, and become better at using those edit programs. Also fun to scroll through your library and learn from your older pictures.

Beautiful!!! Equine llllloooovvve..good skills on the edits!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! 😊
Sorry for the late reply my roadtrip was in between and this post was already automated by Steempeak 😇

No worries, well done you for being ahead of the game. Hope your road trip was awesome.

The trip was awesome indeed! One more trip left and than I need to wait till spring arrives again for my next trip... Now I can be jealous at the perfect weather you will have during summer 😘

Oh for sure, i will be telling you all about it!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi, @guchtere!

You just got a 8.36% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

wow, really good editing! Just saw the contest now, maybe I should give it a go! I am usually too lazy to edit my photos because I have so many, but you are both totally right! I think I'll give it a go, if I'll manage to make it before the deadline...

Sorry for the late reply my roadtrip was in between 😇
Thanks for the compliment! Did you take your chance during @dboontje his second contest while I was away? 😈

No, I wanted to, but I tried to go out and get some long exposure photos, but then I realised that the reason i haven't done many for a long time, is that that's (very unfortunately) the thing that my current camera doesn't do so well... Or maybe I was in the wrong place. I used to have a shitty digital camera, but for some funny reason it was really good at long exposure, where this better camera doesn't really capture it as I'd wish it to! I would like to try to experiment more with it in less street lit places though, but didn't get to it yet...

Oh damn sorry to hear... :(
What camera do you currently use? (the better one)

I use a fujifilm x20 camera. When I want to be more nerdy I use my analog which is a Nikon F3, that one would probably do better for long exposure, but I'd have to wait for the pictures to develop and all that, and then steemit is already ahead for the next 20 challenges ;D

X20 has a small sensor, need to Google it but wasn't it that Fuji disabled long exposure options so you can't combine higher iso with longer shuttertime if you want to use it.

The F3 that is a lovely beast! So actually you need to have the challenge topics for 36 challenges ahead so you chan shoot 1 film and let it develop and you will be in time for all the contests 🤔

Yes that might be it, because if I choose a iso above 100 it doesn't let me choose longer shutter time than.. I don't remember, but not long! I didn't read about it, just had to play around with the settings for letting me do it, but it sounds spot on.. I wonder why..
Haha, yes I have to see if my F3 photos fit to the challenges! Right now I am waiting for a true black&white to get developed, which takes about a month apparently, because they have to send it to those special places where they still do that! I used to develop myself, but all my dark room stuff is packed up somewhere in my father's house :/ Would be faster, cheaper and more fun though, at least the negatives.

Hi @guchtere!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.846 which ranks you at #4211 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 47 places in the last three days (old rank 4258).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 471 contributions, your post is ranked at #68.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30