Let's talk about ... DOGS PHOTOGRAPHY.

in #photomag6 years ago (edited)

As a dog boss of three beautiful shepherds I have of course pictures about the dogs. And yes, even with me there are just enough snapshots that I just made because I'm crazy about those dogs. But occasionally, yes occasionally, I plan a real photo shoot with my dogs. Then I go into all the tips in mind that I have memorized for myself through a lot of practice.

And because of course I am not the only photographing dog boss, here is a post with things I try to remind myself of when I go out for especially photographing dogs.



I don't pretend to be the only one who knows ... so I would love to hear what you are thinking, and how you photograph your dog, so leave a comment, and spam me with photo's of your dogs!

  • Use a SHORT shutter speed.

It is a bit of an open door of course, but a short shutter speed is definitely recommended as soon as you start to photograph dogs. Dogs are not people, they are animals and they are mobile. Often very mobile even and certainly with puppies this can be a problem. Just keep this in mind. Do not force the animal ... such a photo shoot is already exciting enough for many dogs. With a short shutter speed you can shoot your images, but you do not have to force the dog and he can just do his thing.







  • Try to shoot as much as possible at eye level

Yes, this means that you often have to lie down at your belly or knees in this branch of photography. But the difference with how you portray the dog is simply too big not to do it.

Below the first picture that was taken while I remained standing. The second photo was taken while I was lying on the floor. You can here notice the difference ... It's the same dog.







  • Preferably use a telephoto lens with a large aperture.

A telephoto lens with a large diaphragm helps you to loosen the dog from the background, as it were. But beware, because at a too large aperture, the nose of the dog immediately becomes blurred. Now it depends on the effect you want to achieve. But remember, the eyes must always be sharp. That is what you focus on. The eyes! Just like with humans, the eyes are also a mirror of the soul in the animals. If possible, make sure that the eyes also get a light for an even more expressive expression.







  • Work TOGETHER!

Yes you can also work with dogs! It is not a matter of taking the dog with you and you decide where the dog will sit, lie down, stand, walk or run. No on the contrary. Dogs are true explorers. They love new environments so take them there too. Let them have fun and don't limit communication to just giving commands. There is nothing that is more frightening for a dog than a photographer who only orders with his camera. In that case the dog will never do what you want to get from him, and rightly so!


Take your time, make it fun and you have a very willing model for your camera. Keep it alternating. Do you want a posed portrait, that is possible! Of course ... but make sure it does not take 5 minutes, and if the dog doesn't want to pose at that moment, don't put undue stress on it. You will see that in the photo. Just save that photo for a later moment in the walk! With time, patience and a lot of pleasure every dog ​​is a willing model.







  • Observe and get to know the dog.

Not every person is the same, not every dog ​​is the same. What you want to achieve when you photograph people, capture a personality, you want to achieve that when you photograph animals. Do not be afraid to take pictures that differ from what you usually see. Let yourself be guided by your feelings and try to make a 'connection' with the dog. Try to really come into his world. Of course this goes with your own dog the easiest, but also when you are photographing dogs of someone else try to really focus on that one dog. Make contact with the dog, but do not force anything! A dog that gets forced into something he does not want will never want to work with you again. And that is what you just need to come up with the best pictures.


Talk to the owner about the dog and observe what the dog is doing. Know the dog language because it can help you ... Never start hastily with photography, but first pay attention to the reactions of the dog. Take your time! You may work with a clock, but for a dog, time does not work at all!


As soon as you notice that the dog starts to relax, you can take your camera and do your job.




  • Photograph Dog (s) WITH the owner.

I always try to take a photo of the dog with the owner. You have taken a walk together, trying to make a nice time for both boss and dog, because it is not just photography. You are also certainly socializing when you start to photograph the dogs of another owner. Then it is very nice to take a photo of dog with boss!


You will not easily photograph a more relaxed dog than when you photograph the dog with the owner. And most owners are very happy when they get a picture with their dog.












And most important tip that I can give is ... Follow your heart! Because in my opinion photography is all about emotion.



I hope you enjoyed this post just as much as I enjoyed taking the pictures. And see you in my next photography blog!

Sort:  

I have to admit, I’ve been stalking your posts. Woof woof and woof

I have to say, I totally love for you to stalk my posts, so keep on doing that! Woof woof

Upvoted.

DISCLAIMER: Your post is upvoted based on curation algorithm configured to find good articles e.g. stories, arts, photography, health, etc. This is to reward you (authors) for sharing good content using the Steem platform especially newbies.
If you're a dolphin or whales, and wish not to be included in future selection, please let me know so I can exclude your account. And if you find the upvoted post is inappropriate, FLAG if you must. This will help a better selection of post.

Keep steeming good content.
@Yehey

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

You're a genius... All this is true and it really works... I usually click random dogs and the best way to get good clicks is to let them be.... If you're friendly enough they'll give you better shots than expected.

Thank you for your nice words. Yes dogs give you much, if you just connect with them and make sure you don't force the dog in any way.

Keeping animals give’s us a longer life.

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

Every time I'm impressed how you capture the personalities.
It really looks like the dogs are aware of being photographed and are playing with the lens. :-)

Congratulations @hetty-rowan! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89