Honeybee Close-up

in #photomag6 years ago (edited)

After joining Steemit some months ago, my passion for photography and in particular macrophotography awakened. Browsing old images I found macro images I completely forgot about. Nowadays I find myself looking at the world differently, more focused on details, more aware of what a different perspective can do.

During my daily walks I always bring along my Canon Ixus 950 IS. It is a compact camera with excellent macrophotography abilities. I have had this camera for a while but never used its abilities to the fullest.

Most of my images have insects in them. Insects are fascinating creatures. One problem though, they scare the h*** out of me. To get as close as possible and yet to keep as much distance as possible I shoot most images by keeping the camera at arm's length and just pointing and hoping for the best.

It took some trial and error to get decent pictures with that approach, but it is definitely something you can learn.

Today I would like to share two images I took during one of my walks three weeks ago. These images have not been shared anywhere else. This honeybee was too busy to notice me. Lucky me!

Click the image for fullsize version

kk4gx2n0b2.png

Click the image for fullsize version

b8sq5z3pbi.png

I am open to any suggestions to improve my images.



twcv2ybhl8.png cv4vuo7j2f.png k1yae65nrk.png sujz10trkz.png 31gt2yw58u.png

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-10T11:28:42
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 312.00/200.00
Total Photos: 48
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.37 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

A couple of nice shots there. I find it hard to get shots of bees as they are normally so "busy". The hardest thing is to get the eyes as the focal point for the image. Looking forward to seeing what else you can come up with.

Thank you. I love your project and hope I can keep up to your standards.

Yes bees are very busy animals, just when you think you have a clear shot, they decide to jump to another flower. No cooperation at all from those guys. These movements always make me step back for a moment before repositioning. Very happy with the strap, that came with my camera, too. I would surely have damaged my camera while backing away.

nice honeybee and I love the saturated color and the DOF here in the photo's.

Thank you very much. These images haven't been post processed, apart from adding my name. They turned out so well, I am very happy with those images. Repeating this will be a challenge :)

That always is the challenge, to repeat it or make an even better one!

Congratulations @ijmmai! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Croatia vs England


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37