Musicians in the park - the loners

in #photomag5 years ago

In my previous post, I talked about a "band" that I found in Honghu park in Shenzhen. They were a real jolly group and it was a refreshing difference from the normal musicians I found in the park.

We visit the park every afternoon for our daily exercise, and I make use of the opportunity to take my Fujifilm X100F camera with me - just for in case some photo opportunity emerges from around a corner.

_JOH7868_800.jpg

More often I found single musicians. I normally just take a quick photo and walk on, acknowledging their talent with a head nod and a smile...

_JOH8033_800.jpg

I would guess that about 60% of these musicians play some form of a wind instrument.

_JOH8026_800.jpg

Then one day, from a distance I could hear the melodic sounds of a string instrument. As he was not on our normal track I had to deviate to find him.

_JOH8024_800.jpg

He was playing a Pipa, or, what we call, a Chinese lute.

_JOH8021_800.jpg

The fact that I heard him from a distance is because he did some manual conversion to add a pickup to the instrument and then used an amplifier to share his music with the visitors of the park.

About 3 weeks later, I found another musician playing a string instrument. This time it was a Zhongruan which is another type of Chinese lute. This one was also converted with a pickup to amplify his music.

_JOH8116_800.jpg

Only during post-processing did I realised that is actually the same musician playing two different lutes.

Look how his shirts are also similar, except for the colour!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10