Introducting @photomag, the photography magazine created by you.

in #photomag6 years ago (edited)

logoAsset 52x.png

I have always believed that the Steem blockchain could do more for photographers than it currently does. I want to be able to go to a single place and see some amazing images as well as read articles from some of the great photographers that create content on this platform without having to find my way through a shed load of spam and plagiarised content. Many others have tried with their own tag, but as one tag gets popular, the spammers and plagiarists move in and yet again it becomes an impossibility to stop rubbish getting to the top of trending.

I have been scratching my head for a while now on how I think this could be done, and I've finally come to a conclusion.

Introducing @photomag

Photomag will hopefully be a place where photographers can come to read and view some great photography content daily without the problems associated with day to day Steem usage. Also, good content will be rewarded well using my curie direct follow up-vote (which currently is worth anything between $5 and $10). This, in turn, should push good content to the top of the #photomag trending feed, turning that into its own collection of great photography articles and images.

But surely vote-bots and massive self-upvoting/circle jerking will still be a problem?

While using Steemit to browse, yes that will be the case - the system is always open to abuse and pushing poor quality posting to the top of any trending tag. However, in the future, I am planning on creating a @photomag specific user interface which will have more of a magazine format and will only show articles that have been up-voted by the @photomag associated accounts. This effectively makes me (and maybe in the future a team of people), the editors of the magazine which you have created and been rewarded for creating. All curation will be manually done and plagiarism/re-posting checked for to ensure the highest quality posts appear in the magazine. In terms of my experience and how I will create this interface - I have nearly 20 years experience in software engineering and support and have lots of experience creating user interfaces so hopefully it will be your go-to place for photography articles on the STEEM blockchain.

So how do I get involved?

For now, just post great content with the #photomag tag as the first tag. If the post is of good enough quality, I'll be dropping my curie direct follow up-vote on it. I'd love to see the following from you all

  • Image posts - Show me your best photos. Add some details about what you did when you took them and how you set them up. The more interesting information you put on there the better. Even a short paragraph on what you were trying to achieve with the image will make it more likely that you will get an up-vote.
  • Blog posting - Been somewhere cool or interesting where the main focus of your trip was photography. Let me know about that and I'll be sure to drop a vote if it's a good post.
  • General Photographic Articles - Fancy writing a bit about how to use ND filters or the theory behind the circle of confusion. Do it! This is exactly the type of thing that I want to see
  • Reviews - Have you gotten hold of the latest camera body and fancy telling everyone all about it? Would love to hear what you think.
  • Anything else - If it's based on photography (or even videography) then it could well be added into the mag.

One thing to note is that I am not likely to up-vote simple snapshots. This is intended to be a magazine for photographers, by photographers, so high-quality images and posts are what I am looking for. I only have so much VP to spread around so it will be used on the best articles only

How else can I help?

You can follow the vote-trail on steemauto.

https://steemauto.com/dash.php?trail=photomag&i=1

Or delegate SP to @photomag with one of the following links

50 SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Who operates @photomag?

@photomag is operated by @markangeltrueman. Mark is a @curie curator who is looking to make use of his direct follow up-vote from curie in order to promote the work of good photographic content creators. He is also an avid photographer and all round STEEM addict.

I look forward to seeing what you guys post.

Thanks

logoAsset 52x.png

Sort:  

Hi, this post has been upvoted (by @rycharde)and resteemed (by @accelerator); it has also been added to the MAP Trail on SteemAuto. However, looking at your MO, I wonder how many posts you see yourself doing from this new account.
You may also be interested in this new curator contest (or you know other curators who may benefit).
Good luck with this!

Will probably do some weekly updates or development updates on the new front end as I go along. Thanks for the trail add.

We wish you success @photomag! I am sure that a lot of our members will participate! (already seeing some getting your upvotes)

Thank you for supporting original photography!

@photofriend - A community of photographers supporting original photography on Steeemit and fight against plagiarism. To improve the overall Steemit experience and help fellow photographers is our shared mission.


Welcome to Steemit @photomag!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How does Steemit actually work?

Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings!

This sounds amazing, @skiesandsports needs to read this too! He does amazing photography articles etc.

Yeah, I'm looking forward to seeing what he (and you) can add to this. You are both awesome tog's

Thank you, excited to see more of @photomag !

It's funny, when I read anything photography nowadays I sub consciously think, markangeltrueman, and I opened this link thinking that, without having any idea of even the slightest association with you, but of course when I got to the curie direct follow thing well I knew it could only be one person.

Best of luck on this endeavor!

Cheers my friend. Thanks for your support

Great initiative!! You have my full support!

Amazing job Mark! I love this idea and am excited to see the exceptional photography all in one place. There is so much talent on this platform and I think this is a great way to uplift those authors while encouraging and engaging them as well. 🙌🏼

Thanks, looking forward to seeing how it goes

This is great ... and too bad I didn't see this earlier. I just made a post with photo's in it from which I think they would fit ... but I hadn't used the right tag of course.

I'm very curious how this is going to develop in time.

I’m curious too. Will see how it goes. Hoping that eventually it will become its own site completely separate from steemit

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 12 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 16 SBD worth and should receive 124 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thank you,you wonderful, pink, not at all pig like piggy thing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73