The Church of Piglet's Guidelines for the Little Steemian; A Reposted Reminder

in #piglet6 years ago

You may wonder what the little guy can do to make this a better place without getting retaliatory flags and die a noble Steemit death.

To help you think about this, or rather think for you, as you want us to do, the Church of Piglet is kindly providing you with these eleven guidelines:

  • Focus on and vote for those you like and/or who provide content that interests you;
  • Don't follow the rich just because they have big wallets;
  • Unfollow all vote buyers;
  • Check for ghost followers who can't be arsed to curate and unfollow them;
  • Mute those on the trending page you feel are being grossly overpaid or otherwise annoying;
  • Mute schemers, reward pool rapists, vote-for-voters, circle jerkers, in-crowd free-wheelers, and the like;
  • Mute sycophants shamelessly sucking up to the big wallets in the comments;
  • Flag comment spammers;
  • Support whales who still care, and vote for witnesses who still care;
  • Provide the best content you can;
  • Read like you want to be read, and curate like you want to be curated.

If you follow these guidelines, you are at least doing your bit to make this a better place, and hence you can call yourself a member of The Tribe of Good Intent, the layman's organisation associated with the Church of Piglet. This also entitles you to guidance towards the Road of Success for only $4.95 (no refunds). Note that following these guidelines may make you unpopular in some circles.

Full church membership requires a very sizeable donation; the High Priest, Holder of Truth, and Keeper of the Ivy Staff has to eat as well, even though I am doing all this out of goodness, and to help you, and because I care, and all that, like all Life Gurus on Steemit say they do, the difference being that they lie and I don't, as I have access to The One Truth.

And remember: it's up to you, nobody else will make things better (except me, of course, your guiding light).

Resteem this for a free blessing, and go in peace.

We have no current vacancies for ministers, and getting ordained is by invitation only anyway. Large sums of money sometimes work miracles though, if we can get away with it without compromising our high standards.

Kind regards,

The High Priest of the Church of Piglet, Holder of Truth, and Keeper of the Ivy Staff.


Image by Katharsisdrill

Sort:  

I buy votes but I spread the wealth too...I am the darkness and the light 😈

I always thought you were a heretic; go forth and sin no more 8-P.

My first meditation retreat I named myself

The Rule Breaker.

I didn't break my retreat rules, but I went home and broke a lot of social norms that are stupid and unfair, busted a lot of abusive assholes in the chops, completely freaking my family out...

When everyone is expecting you to act per their view and how they think you should perform and you step out of the box it shatters everyone's view of reality and the way they handle this is by calling you crazy. I gladly accepted the title since they were calling me mad before my new insight into who I truly am...hahaha.

If you can't break the social norms and try new things out to see how they will work you might as well be in jail.

The guidelines of the Church of Piglet aren't forced upon you, and don't even apply to you, if you're not supporting the Church of Piglet.

That is also how the CoP is different from many other churches, despite what it says in 1 Corinthians 5:12. We are also far less serious.

BTW There actually are a few social norms the breaking of which perhaps should send you to jail. It's not entirely open-ended, this breaking-free thing.

That's where wisdom comes into play, figuring out how much you can get away with before pissing everyone off and getting kicked out of the church and social norms are not state laws.

But I do support you, and I promise not to eat your cute little pig...

Laws are made by a governing body that will use physical violence to enforce them. Norms are unwritten and trickier to navigate because breaking them may get you killed or ostracised depending on the social structure you live in...religions if not involved with the state have those unwritten laws. I promise to respect your norms when in your Church of the Piglet. Please don't become a governing body that uses force to enforce your religious views.

Norms are unwritten and trickier to navigate because breaking them may get you killed or ostracised

Or rightly be called a prick. It's not just the consequences of not complying to norms that matter, some norms have a moral background that one may or may not like, but which is hard to ignore because it is useful in a group, or just because it consists of, well, morals.

If only the personal consequences of what one does keep ones behaviour in check, one would be an amoral person, no? I'm with Kant on this.

And I haz no force here on Steemit.

PS I misspelled "reddest" twice in one of my last postings before I corrected it; I blame you.

I have the down vote flag of the righteous😇

Morals of A society or group are good if they arent used to control others so one can do what one wants and it causes harm to society or an individual. I follow the rule of do no harm as best I can with my limited intellect and lack of wisdom.

Kant made the mistake when he assumed people were reasonable in a world of universal laws...hahaha😈

Aristotle and Buddha are wiser...virtue is a balancing act between extremes.

Oh, but there are many reasonable people, but that isn't what Kant was talking about, I think.

And Kant didn't say there were universal laws for "good", he even denied that: "It is completely impossible to think up something in the world [...] that can be considered "good" without restrictions ...".

One of the things he said was "Act as if the maxims of your action were to become through your will a universal law of nature." That's just speaking hypothetically. The categorical imperative is a feature of the autonomous moral consciousness and not of heteronomous moral systems, it has nothing to do with universal morals and duties, or universal laws, coming from without, it's just a way of thinking about morals that come from within. Not all that far removed from that "wisdom" you mentioned, no? He calls it "good will".

But let's not go there anymore; I have long since rolled my own morals.

Hmm money does work in mysterious ways!

Very good points. Unfortunately seems like everyone buys votes. I never have and dont ever plan on it.

Hope it is not too late for Steemit.

Yes, it seems to be spreading. I also hope it is not too late, but even if it isn't, are there enough people who still care to do something about it?

Which reminds me, I should repost the Ats-witness posting.

The minister with the staff at the end reminds me of Terry Pratchett!

And a fine set of principles!

It is I, the Holy Priest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66095.77
ETH 3184.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.12