Pirates and skulls and a bit of Wales

in #piratesunday5 years ago (edited)

Holy crap did you see that epic post from @sbsparts with the kilo poured skull today?

It is here and you must see it. Carefull it is hot!

As it is our piratesunday today that skull made me think of:

Pirates and skulls.

Let me first show you the skull silver coin I have and it is a skull of the monkey that sat on my shoulder in the past

In better times:

Jolly Roger

Our flag, our jolly roger is why we like skulls. The term Jolly Roger was first mentioned in a book in 1724 and refered to a Welsh pirate named Bartholomow Roberts (born John Roberts) who used a flag called Jolly Roger. He could be related to our own welsh pirate maybe.

That flag looked like this:

Bart Roberts is honoured in Wales with a memorial stone in Casnewydd Bach (meaning ……….)

I am not gonna make it too long today so end with 2 scary skull pictures. It is windforce 8 today so I have to check my ship aarrghhh.

Goldrooster

Sort:  

I Really am Liking What you are Showing Here for #PirateSunday you Young Buccaneer..........@goldrooster

Aaaarrrr... You kidding me? That is frkn badass 😜🤘 Hiya!!
Thank you for making me smile and shame on you for making me jelly 😂😂😂 hahaha.. Jk
Have a wonderful Sunday my friend and thank you for sharing this. Awsome! 🤗

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Thank you for using CryptoSicko!

Well done and thank you for joining and supporting my subscription based upvoting bot that provides you with daily upvotes in exchange for your spare STEEM POWER.
Delegation links for CryptoSicko
100SP 250SP500SP

@powernap purchased a 57.24% vote from @promobot on this post.

*If you disagree with the reward or content of this post you can purchase a reversal of this vote by using our curation interface http://promovotes.com

Casnewydd means:

newydd = new
Cas = port

NEWPORT

Bach means small or little

LITTLE NEWPORT

Which is a village in West Wales (not to be confused with Newport, which is a city in the east).

The Welsh..... We get everywhere. Now if only there was another iconic design attributed to a famous Welsh man??

2CEFF0A0-870F-4DE1-85D5-5CECB81A3402.jpeg

Fate could have been a wee bit different,
if the flag were called The Jolly Roberts rather than the Jolly Roger!
Yo ho, as the wee bit of Welsh in me still draws me to the Sea!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87