If Imitation Is The Sincerest Form of Flattery, Then Want Is Plagiarism?

in #plagiarism5 years ago

Some people say that "imitation is the sincerest form of flattery." source

When we make ourselves to be like someone else, we validate who that person is and what that person does.

Someone Has "Validated" My Work.

I must be doing something right because someone "imitated" a recent dPoll post of mine. With the exception of the first line, this person did an exact "copy and paste" of my post.

Fortunately, there are accounts on the Steem blockchain that help make us aware of people who plagiarize. Thanks to @SteemCleaners and @isnochys!

I received the following message letting me know what happened:
unj69w8g4f.png
image source: a comment from @SteemCleaner on a post someone copied

My Thoughts


Honestly, I am not sure how I feel about this.

Am I flattered? Not really, but I would like to know why my dPoll survey was plagiarised​. Did the person view the content as exceptional? Was I able to write the post in a way that clearly communicated that person's thoughts? What did this person think he would gain from copying my post.

Am I mad? Not really. Actually, I am very encouraged that the Steem community has stood beside me and taken quick action against this type of behavior.

What Is Next?


Being on the receiving end of this type of activity (for the first time) is making me want to be more diligent in giving credit where credit is due in my Steem posts.

There are several main categories that I believe should be sourced:

  1. Images - Even if an image is free to use, I highly recommend adding the image source so that no one can accuse you of plagiarism.
  2. Information - Not only do you add credibility to your post, but you also give appropriate credit when you link back to the sources you used to write a post.
  3. Inspiration - I really messed up on this one time. Sometimes another person's Steem post inspires you to write your post. In our community, you don't detract from your post by giving props to that person. On the contrary, you are building new bridges when you mention someone in your post that has inspired you.

I Want To Hear From You

  1. Has someone ever plagiarised​ your Steem post?
  2. If so, how did it make you feel?
  3. What steps do you take to make sure you source appropriately in your Steem posts?

Thanks for stopping by!
@SumatraNate

Sort:  

I'm more like "what ever...". I do not need to become faimous overnight, so I don't really need the citations. If you are a good writer, and you are constantly the first one to write about something, readers will stay with you.

Posted using Partiko Android

Good point. We need to make sure that we focus on our audience. What is challenging is that building a strong audience takes time and we are often tempted to take shortcuts.

I wish you the best as you build and grow.

That is easy. He wanted to win the sndbox upvote. Just like you did the week before with said post.

It is a blessing to receive an upvote from @Sndbox, but it is also nice to be given a challenge that I get to work towards. I wouldn't want to miss out on the opportunity to create and be creative.

It is sad that people still try to sneak post, polls, and photos as their own. There are so community projects out there now that kind the copycats and make it known to the community.

Thanks for stopping by!

Hi @sumatranate!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.298 which ranks you at #2570 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 2571).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 257 contributions, your post is ranked at #168.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87