Ripples in the Pattern: My newest cryptocollectible, and an attempt at entry into a new platform.

in #planetslothicorn5 years ago

It's time for another crypto-collectible artwork !

I made this one yesterday evening, and for some reason I keep thinking of Anubis, the Egyptian god, whenever I look at it.

PatternsInTheWater.gif

I've been trying to use Weavesilk in less-symmetric ways, as the 5/6 symmetry setting can only do so much.

I still like the artwork itself to be symmetrical, but I'm going to be experimenting more with 3 symmetry and non-symmetrical components too.

It's too bad Weavesilk doesn't allow me to temporarily redefine where the center of symmetry is, that'd open ton's of possibilities (though, thinking about it, I can always create several pieces and fuse them using GIMP)


  1. Weavesilk

I started out, as usual, with a design created using Weavesilk's generative art capabilities:


Pathway.png
This is where the word "Anubis" began popping into my head whenever I looked at it XD

I choose to use 3-symmetry for the center, then 2 symmetrical mirrored for the contours, using a couple of weak no-symmetry gray brushstrokes to fill in the dark void.

2. Deep Dreaming and Deep Styling

I tested out a few different styles, using images from Pexels that were released into the public domain:





This one is a Deep Dream, generated using these settings.

I thought the Deep Dream version was much better than the simple Silkweave one, so I proceeded to use that as the source image for the rest of the experiments.



Oh god this one is ugly...



lacks details... but has potential..

I ran the above version again but with Ultra quality and some modifications to lessen the loss of details and colors:



Wonderful This one is a keeper !

I also tested with an Ultra quality version of the mosaic pattern, and decided to keep that one too:



Ooooohhh Shiny !

After that, I had the two above high quality versions.

3. GIMP

I choose to focus on the Mosaic pattern for my SuperRare submissions

First, I wanted to re-establish symmmetry, since Deep Style tends to lose some of that:

So, select half of the artwork, copy and flip it, and then move it over to cover the other side :)

Then, I wanted to test out some functions I haven't yet had a chance to use in GIMP. The Animation options

The ripple effect was applied successfully :

and the result was the above GIF, which is available on SuperRare here

PatternsInTheWater.gif

Attempting to get into KnownOrigin

After reading an Inktober article by @shortcut, I thought it might be interesting to use one of his invite codes to try and get a piece of art onto KnownOrigin, another Ethereum-based Crypto-artwork platform.

I decided to keep this one as is, for that very purpose:

So I've sent off an application using that piece and @shortcut's invitation code. Hopefully they like my work enough to allow me tpo publish works on their platform too !

Especially since I need more ETH if I want to keep playing 0xUniverse


Do use my referral link to join, the spaceship combat phase is right around the corner !

  • above image rights belongs to 0xGames.

In other news I've recently joined #Steemsilvergold !
Being new to silver collection, I hope they'll have patience with me ;)

I've already ordered home a round (I've been living this month on half a salary, since I started work in the middle of September, but still had some monies to spare, so hopefully next month with a full salary I can get 2-3 rounds at once <3) in the beginning of last week, which should arrive soon XD



I release all my images under CC-BY 4.0:

steemsilvergold.png

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Hello c-squared!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Thanks, happy you liked it 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Great insightful post! Good luck with the application at KnownOrigin. I would suggest to use the #creative-commons tag, when you publish creative commons works, as I'm regularly curating CC-content with my @creative-commons account.

I'm also intersted in discovering new crypto games, so I will probably check out 0xUniverse using your referral link ;-)

If you check it out, dm me your Eth address on discord and ill send you a common planet or two to get started 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! Will do :-)

K, will do.

Happy you like the post !

I've found making these artworks very therapeutic.

It allows my mind to unwind, which seems even more important now that I have a 37H work week 😅

Posted using Partiko Android

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

This is absolutely trippy <3 I love the colours and I love the effects of its vibrating animated form, also <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73