Excited, hopefully it will grow! steemCreated with Sketch.

in #plant5 years ago

At first I thought that it might not survive, having realised that I cut it a little less than an inch off this onion.

I let it grow some roots a few days first before I even attempted to plant it today. It wasn't showing any signs of growing until 48 hours later.

First I dare not soak it with water because this could rotten the cut onion before the roots came out; and true enough once there are some roots and there's a little too much water, the it has the stench of rot around the corner. So I kept it minimum moist just enough for it to start growing blades.

Just only today I have decided to place it outside the balcony for fresh air with soil and hopefully with some sun it will grow better ; until thunderstorm came and I couldn't get it back in and its outside drenched with rain water. However I know that thunder storm rain water is actually great for plants; but being just planted in I truly hope that it will survive this round.

(I know my mulberry tree and lime would have loved it. My little lemon tree only had a bit of it being seated deeper in the balcony)

Let's see how it goes.

Anyone tried planting white onions from cuts before and survived in a hot and humid country like Malaysia?

To share your experience!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Awesome, I'm using hydroponic method to plant onions:

Oh really?? But do far I feel the roots rot out fairly quickly. Maybe I didn't do it right.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh now I see it you used the whole onion.

Next time when I help out food bank and I see any sprouting onion I will take one home to try too.

Do you add any fertilizer solutions to this plant?

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15