Vegan Tomato Artichoke Pasta (GF)

in #plantbased5 years ago

Hello Hello!

Who else is a major pasta-lover?
DSC06315.jpg

I have 3 words to tell you: I LOVE PASTA. It has been one of my favorite foods since I was little and continues to reign in my internal food hierarchy (haha). Since going Gluten Free, however, I have has to experiment with different types/brands of pasta and have found some types I love, and some that I don’t love as much.

For me, I have found brown rice pasta to most closely resemble the consistency and taste of regular pasta. It is soft, not as gummy, and tastes great it a lot of different dishes! It is what I use in the recipe I am sharing with you today. I think it's a definite 9/10

Lentil pasta is a great, high protein pasta alternative that tastes great with sauces/veggie sauces. I find that without a sauce the flavor isn’t my favorite, but it is still good. Lentil pasta also tends to be VERY STICKY so you have to make sure you rinse it and eat it right after cooking. Overall, in my book, it is a 7.5/10.

Chickpea pasta is also pretty good- I find it to be similar to lentil in consistency (gummier than brown rice), but I actually like the flavor of chickpea pasta better than lentil. It’s a personal preference, but I think chickpea pasta gets a 8/10!

Black bean pasta is a total no-go for me. The texture is rather slimy and gritty, and it is chewy as well. I had it once and it’s safe to say I won’t go for it again. 2/10. (for effort)

Corn pasta is also not my favorite. It has a very grainy texture I don’t prefer.(2/10)

OK, that’s my GF pasta breakdown!

Now, let’s get onto the recipe.

This tomato-artichoke pasta is SO. DANG. EASY, and it is the perfect summer pasta dish, because it is

light
full of flavor
satisfying
minimal ingredients
quick
overall delicious

It has a bit of a Mediterranean flair, and has easily become one of my favorite pasta dishes for summer 2019. Are you ready for the recipe?

DSC06319.jpg

Vegan Tomato Artichoke Pasta (GF)
By: Grace // Just A Veg
Prep Time: 10 minutes
Cook time: 25 minutes
Total Time: 35 minutes
Serves: 2

Ingredients:
2 servings brown rice pasta (I’m using Explore Cuisine)
1 medium onion, sliced
2 tablespoons minced garlic
3 tablespoons olive oil
1 can artichoke hearts (I used Whole Foods brand)
1 can diced tomatoes
1/4 cup Kalamata olives, sliced (optional)
1 tablespoon lemon juice
salt and pepper to taste
Parsley and Vegan Parmesan for garnish

Directions:
Cook pasta according to package, set aside
DSC06295.jpg

While pasta is cooking, add olive oil, garlic, and onion to a large pan. Add salt and pepper to taste. Cook on medium-high until onion is browned and translucent.
DSC06298.jpg
Reduce heat and add artichoke hearts and diced tomatoes. Whether or not you strain the tomatoes is up to you. Leaving the juice in will give a more saucy dish, while straining will have less juice. I like to leave the juice in, but it is up to you! Simmer for 4-5 minutes.
DSC06301.jpg
DSC06303.jpg
Add Kalamata olives and lemon juice, and continue to simmer for another 3-4 minutes
Finally, add your cooked pasta and salt and pepper to taste. Simply stir and you are done!
DSC06307.jpg
Scoop into bowls, garnish with parsley and vegan parmesan, and add more salt and pepper to taste.
Enjoy!

DSC06321.jpg
I hope you love this pasta dish! I think it is perfect for the summertime.
What is your favorite gluten free pasta? Let me know in the comments below.
Have a great week!

~Grace // Just A Veg

Sort:  

That looks amazing! I got to try this some sunny day.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Mmm, pasta!

Posted using Partiko iOS

What a great pasta treat for real foodies yumyumyum

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86