Podcast Wednesday: Social/Political Awareness

in #podcast6 years ago

I write a lot of posts about feminism and allyship and political awareness. And you may wonder where I, a Jewish Ashkenazi dude from Israel, get all of this stuff. Well, I learned a lot following smart people on twitter, and back in the day I learned a lot on twitter. I learned a bunch when the Science Fiction field burned to the ground during RaceFail 09. But I also learn a lot from podcasts. Much of it is US-centric, but parallels can often be drawn, and are often depressing. So let's talk about some of the podcasts I learn from on Podcast Wednesday.

Feminist Frequency Radio


I've been a fan of Anita Sarkeesian's work since before her first kickstarter. Her reasonable, measured critiques always sought to examine culture, while acknowledging that it is okay, and in fact essential, to critique the things we love. Seeing her demonized as the woman who wants to take boys' games has always been bewildering to me. Now, her project has evolved to include podcasts, and the main one, Feminist Frequency Radio, is great. Sarkeesian and her two co-hosts talk about the culture of the week, enthuse and criticize, and it's great. Their dynamic together is just terrific.

Keep It!


Crooked Media, home of many of my favorite podcasts, has recently launched their pop culture discussion podcast, Keep It. In fact, it was launched just about the time when I wrote my Favorite Pop Culture Podcasts post. It's actually a very similar podcast to Feminist Frequency. There's a diverse panel of three hosts who talk about the culture happenings of the week. It may be a little more focuses on race than gender, but really, both podcasts tackle both issues.

With Friends Like These


Ana Marie Cox is another person whose work I've been following for a very long time. I used to read Wonkette, the politics blog she founded. The Ana Marie Cox of 2018 is much less cynical than the one of 2004. She's also a recovering alcoholic and a Christian. But she's still super smart and curious. In this show she has uncomfortable conversations, often with people she disagrees with. It's about trying to understand those who are different from her, from me, from you. It's "about listening instead of arguing," and while she will sometimes stumble into an argument, she usually manages to keep it civil and friendly.

Code Switch


Code Switch is NPR's blog and podcast covering race, ethnicity and culture. It is very US-centric, but fascinating. I've learned a lot from hosts Shereen Marisol Meraji and Gene Demby.

Pod Save The People


Much like Anita Sarkeesian, DeRay Mckesson is someone people have very strong reactions to. I find him to be smart, insightful, and measured. And his team at PSTP (another Crooked Media podcast) brings a great deal of experience and in depth knowledge to issues of race and politics. It is kinda the way more depressing sibling of Keep It!.

To sum up

Being aware is a process. One that never ends, because the fuckery never ends. Keeping informed is crucial to understanding the world and being better citizens of the world.

related posts:

Podcast Wednesday: Best Podcast App on Android
Podcast Wednesday: In The Dark Season 2
Podcast Wednesday: Alice Isn't Dead Is Back
Podcast Wednesday: Amanda Palmer and Justina Ireland Visit Podcasts
Podcast Wednesday: The Last Movie
Podcast Wednesday: When Nora Met Anita On A Boat
Podcast Wednesday: Steal The Stars
Podcast Wednesday: Interview Shows
Podcast Wednesday: Quiz Shows
Podcast Wednesday: (non political) Comedy Podcasts
Podcast Wednesday: Politics Podcasts
My Favorite Political Humor Podcasts
My Favorite Wrestling Podcasts
My Favorite Pop Culture Podcasts
My favorite SFF magazine podcasts
My favorite advice (and comedic advice) podcasts
My favorite serial fiction podcasts

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16