The Joe Rogan Experience

in #podcast5 years ago

It's insomnia night over here, so I'm making the most of this "up" time and listening to the Joe Rogan + Andreas Antonopoulos podcast #844, thanks to coming across @louisthomas's post earlier. It's not quite serenading me to sleep, learning lots though, that's why I'm writing this post.

image

I've watched a few Joe Rogans before, mainly clips of the Maynard James Keenan ones because I love him even though Tool still haven't released their next album after 17 years, and the last time A Perfect Circle came to London, they didn't play any of their best songs. Not even Judith or 3 Libras, like come on. I am totally not resentful by the way :P

More recently, I couldn't sleep one night and felt the need to watch something of Neil Degrasse Tyson, one of my favourite people alive.

This came up, and I knew he'd been on the Joe Rogan show before, but I've never actually checked it out. Well, I'm so glad I did, because the first 10 minutes were enough to leave me feeling very inspired.


So the next Joe Rogans on my To Watch list are probably the Jordan Peterson ones and the Russell Brand one maybe?

If you happen to be a Joe Rogan Experience connoisseur, feel free to recommend any good ones or any lesser known gems to me! I'm generally pretty open minded, and currently trying my best to feed my thirst for knowledge so I'd appreciate it ;)

Much Love from Red

Sort:  

Joe Rogan was considered a good researcher and pod-caster few years ago, it shifted a bit around the time of Neil Degrasse Tyson.

The problem is the inconsistency, one day he believes we didn't land on the moon, the next day he belives we did when NDT is invited.
Some people argue that he has now become what is called "Controlled Opposition", or in other word a "Gate Keeper" or a "shill", that his sudden shift came from a pressure from above.

None the less I would still watch some of his old podcasts, in the recent one I would advise the one with Elon Musk, it was such a peculiar meeting.
Other than that, take it always with a grain of salt :)

This is interesting to hear.. personally I haven't seen much of how Joe Rogan's views can skew the conversation, but maybe because I haven't been looking for it? For now, I just care about what the guest usually has to say, and have been mostly enjoying it. I did catch some of the Elon Musk one, but do need to watch the whole thing!

Shame I never got to meet you properly at SF3! Maybe next time :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Don't worry we will meet and chill out next Steemfest4!!!

Yeah Joe Rogan used to have certain "controversial" guests, if you are interested in that sort of things.
It's always good to watch an interesting conversation, especially when it's done with respect!
He often have someone with a very different point of view like Russel Brand

Or Louis THeroux

Bill Burr

Alex Jones (it's a weird one)

I like controversial so all good.. Alex Jones annoys me a bit but i'm sure his episode will be worth watching. Thanks for these!!!

SF4 is only 11ish months away, see you then ;)

I agree on AJ, a bit over the top (just a bit 😛)

Until next SF, i have 11 months of post to read!

Plus he reminds me so much of Cartman from South park, that's all I see when I see him... so it's very distracting :P

Haha yes, only 11 months! I don't post that much, so you'll be ok ;)

Very distracting :)

I will bear with your content for 11 months :D

Yeah @redrica the Elon Musk chat is fascinating, if you've not seen it already

I've only seen bits of it, but will definitely catch the whole thing :)

Yes! I've been watching quite a bit of Joe Rogan on YouTube lately too. I caught some Neil Degrasse Tyson too on his show, blew me away.

My favourite one I've watched lately was actually with Derren Brown. I'm a bit obsessed with Derren lately, so this was a treat. They went really deep in to loads of philosophy.

Ohhh yes!!! I've always loved Derren Brown, because I've always been into mentalism and behaviourism, even though I'm not a massive fan of his shows. I did see that he did an episode with Joe Rogan, will definitely have to catch that :D

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @redrica! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1500 replies. Your next target is to reach 1750 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @redrica!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.802 which ranks you at #1354 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 10 places in the last three days (old rank 1364).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 339 contributions, your post is ranked at #136.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87