The key is to not die. Drink a potion, have a teleport ready; leap to safety; whatever you need to do.

in #poecomp5 years ago (edited)

Just don't die. It's the secret formula to success in a hardcore race.

The following gentlemen are going to be very busy in the next 24 hours.

@cryptosenpai - Account
@enjar - Account
@gamingchimp - Account
@holoz0r - Account
@moon32walker - Account
@thegoliath - Account

And we all wish them the best.


A bit of history for those unaware.

Stay a while, and listen.

In June, 2000, Blizzard released an incredible game; Diablo II.

Since that masterpiece, they've yet to release a game that's come close to being as engaging and immersive; although I've heard there was some kind of interactive cartoon called Diablo III.

As hope of a viable successor waned, a new contender emerged.
Building a grownup game, for grownup gamers; and making it freely available to anyone with an internet connection.
Grinding Gear Games stepped up to the plate, and knocked it out of the park with Path of Exile.

If you haven't played this game and you're even remotely interested in gaming, please take this opportunity to dive in and give it a try.
If you don't immediately love it, the problem is with you; not the game.

I've very much enjoyed running these races; and look forward to continuing the tradition into 2019.

Huge thanks to those throwing their hats in the ring and their relationships into jeopardy.

Time to claim the throne.

Original post here.

As long as I follow @the-canary, you'll know I'm posting freely.

Sort:  

lol from the title I thought it was a metaphor about steemit first :P

I thought it was a metaphor about life.

If you don't immediately love it, the problem is with you; not the game.

If they make it to maps and they don't love the game afterword's. They can turn their gamer card in at the door.

GL everyone and have fun!

I'm streaming! :)

https://www.vimm.tv/@holoz0r

How'd you go? I just jumped in but you're offline.

pressF.png

Press F to pay respect for Timecat. Died while trying past by a fortification and lagged in act 3. Takes with him almost cap restiance from two rare two-stone rings and a bunch decent gear that I sunk 4 alchs into and other currency.

F
Semper Fudge.
High resistances, so I'm guessing he got wrecked by straight up physical damage?
Those shield charging bastards.

Yep, the things that guard them just port right in on top of you and after taking some damage go hide within side to heal back up till you get in. I was just hoping to pass on by since they almost killed me a few times while trying to clear about 5 mins ago in the zone before. The physical damage on some of them is quite crazy.

Not a fan of D3? XD

Admittedly I've never actually played it, I don't think I even got to play 2 :<

Good luck everyone :D

I was delighted when I heard it was coming; and followed the announcements closely.
They decided to steer away from all the stuff that made DII incredible. People told them that was dumb, that they were ripping all the joy out of the game; but they knew better.
Now every level 60 witch doctor is the same.
They might have different gear on; but their stats and skills are identical.
They put the game on rails so we couldn't make mistakes.
I never made the mistake of playing it.

That...sounds...pretty awful actually D:

I played for a while with a buddy, but then I got busy with life and had to stop. I think he kept playing and has done quite well. I would consider getting back into it, but my computer doesn't handle games very well.

Good luck to all the participants!

Get your buddy an account and point him in our direction for the next .
If he's not keen on crypto you can buy his winnings.

I so want to play! And I see the user list is light - the 'relationships in jepardy' thing is no joke! I am heading out to check on the status of the power cord for my new monitor - if everything works out technologically - which character class is unaccounted for so far?

Love the enthusiasm. Entries closed an hour before the league dropped, but follow me or keep an eye on the #poecomp tag to get in on the next one.

Deal! Seems a bit complicated, but I'm getting the gist. A big circle, I love connected trees, I remember the mechanic I first saw in Final Fantasy 10!

Good luck all! I might join on in 2019 if you run another. Diablo II I did love. :)

Get practicing in the meantime, Linny.
So much fun :)

I would have already, if it was iPad compatible. I do not believe it is!

No, not even slightly ipad compatible :)
PC only. It's available on Xbox One, but my comp is only for PC, as players need to be able to keep an eye on each other.

Yeah, I was supposed to play one of these ‘RPG’ thingies for a while. For research for my novel. I need to channel nerdsy gamer man tbh. I can barely remember Diablo, so needed a refresher. The fact that PoE is free to play has me interested. I did watch a YouTube vid, so I will get there, Matt! I just need time. Never enough time. -sigh-

Oh, definitely keep it PC. I only play PC games anyway, if I was serious.

If you need to research a novel by playing an RPG, make it this one. @holoz0r's been live streaming so maybe watch him play for a bit too get a feel for it.

I had a peek, very fast paced, a lot of dead bodies...

The hard part is keeping yourself out of the pile.

Congratulations @mattclarke! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 33000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 34000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

down.png

Man I thought they gave warnings when they took stuff offline. I guess it was unexpected. RIP servers. Everyone so unhappy about Diablo they can't handle all the players wanting to get in on this league :)

#hopeimstillalive

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70310.43
ETH 3568.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73