Poetry Sunday: Cigar, The Poem

in #poem6 years ago (edited)

I wrote the below poem titled "Cigar" after returning home from Iraq in 2005. I returned home in December, so I must have wrote the poem in 2006 or 2007. I don't remember which. It was first published at New Verse News in January 2008.


Image from Pixabay

You'll notice the poem has somewhat of a bitter tone, not a sweet one like a lot of cigars. It is, I guess I'll admit, a sort of bittersweet homage to the politics of war.

It's difficult being a veteran and having reservations about the manner in which your voluntary service was used. Not many people understand the position. If you speak your mind against a war, any war, many other veterans (and the gung-ho military worshipers) will accuse you of hating your country. On the other hand, if you praise the military, or service members, for anything at all, then the peaceniks and military-industrial antagonizers accuse you of being a Nazi warmonger imperialist. I'm neither of those, I can assure you.

My Time In The Service

created and used by veterans
with permission from @guiltyparties
I've got two DD214s on my record, the document that records one's service period and lets the world know whether you served honorably or otherwise. Both of my docments indicate an honorable service record.

The first enlistment was from 1984 to 1987. I joined the Army right out of high school, mainly to get away from my verbally abusive father. It was also my ticket to college using the Veterans Education Assistance Program.

When I told my friends I was joining the Army, no one believed it. I graduated high school all of 120 pounds. I came out of basic training weighing 140. Then I went to administrative assistant school, Airborne school, and then to my unit assignment with the First Special Forces Group in Fort Lewis, Washington. Those three years were some of the best years of my life. My enlistment term ended in June 1987. That fall, I enrolled in college.

My second tour in the military came after a 10-year hiatus. It was 1997, Bill Clinton was president, and I was working on building my career in journalism. I got the bright idea to join the National Guard and go to Officer Candidate School (OCS). It turned out to be one of the biggest miscalculations of my life.

I had noticed that terrorist attacks were getting closer to home, and I'd also noticed that our military was being used for nation-building and peace-keeping exercises more often. I didn't want anything to do with that. Rather, I was developing a desire to be of service to my local and state communities. Therefore, I thought the National Guard would be a good place to be.

It wasn't really for me. Several times, I thought about getting out. OCS was one weekend a month and two weeks in the summer for about 18 months. After a long wait, I served six months on active duty while attending the Armor Officer Basic Course. In the summer of 2004, my unit was called into active duty and we spent 2005 in Iraq fighting an insurgency that never should have happened. Just my luck. I found myself doing things I had no interest in and never got to be of service to my local and state governments as I intended. Donald Rumsfeld's comment, "You go to war with the Army you have," might have sit well with me if the war was a necessary one.

Nevertheless, I served. One year in Iraq and I came home, proffered my resignation, and got on with life. It didn't help that my wife and I married just six months before receiving my activation orders.

Every soldier joins the military knowing there is a possibility of war. It's a risk we take, but we hope that the war we find ourselves in is a war that makes sense. I tried my best, after returning home, to put it behind me. I started a business, found myself raising a couple of grandkids, and resumed writing poetry. One of those poems was "Cigar."

What 'Cigar' Means To Me

I wrote "Cigar" because I had fond memories of myself and two other captains with whom I served standing outside under the Iraqi night time sky shooting the breeze and smoking cigars. No matter what I thought of the situation, our mission, or my chain of command, these moments of comeraderie were some of the best times. They were simple moments, but ones worth cherishing.


Public domain image

The three of us were battle captains, the eyes and ears of the battalion commander. That meant we had limited decision-making capacity on his behalf based on his pre-emptive guidance. It's a staff position, which isn't one set with much glory but an important one for missional effectiveness. We took it in eight hour shifts until the senior captain among us was promoted to assistant operations officer, then we were on for 12 hours and off for 12. I liked the longer shifts better.

Cigar time made it worth it. Captain B, Captain S, and myself would step outside the Tactical Operations Center (TOC), leaving it in the hands of our capable noncommissioned staff, and enjoy a cigar along with some fine gentlemanly conversation. This happened right at dark, a couple of hours after my shift and a couple of hours into Captain S's. We talked about everything you'd expect Army officers to talk about, and some things you might shake your head at. It was our time, and we committed it to the leaves.

So you'll hear in these lines the soft nod to this comeraderie with a few ironic political jabs, first a right then a left, and finally an uppercut as I allude to some historical values that represent our American spirit implying, of course, that our current imperialism has turned its back on those values.

I don't deny it carries a political message, but it's one beset with a definite stand on a moral principle that doesn't get mentioned. And the language, I cannot write a poem without infusing it with word play that matches the content. I take certain liberties with punctuation that I've not seen in contemporary poetry, and I'm proud of that. It is indicative of the unique literary voice that wells up from my middle-aged soul.

In a poem like this, you'd expect a metaphor. You might even expect the poem itself to be a metaphor. And I won't deny that the whore (think of how it sounds -- with a hard 'W') could be something of a symbol, virtually everything in these lines, every little word, points to something real and actual. As that master of psychoanalysis Sigmund Freud, who loved to turn every image in a dream into a symbol, once said, sometimes a cigar is just a cigar.

Even so, there's something manly about a fat stogie. And this one's on me. Have a cigar.


Image from Pixabay

Cigar

Drawn out deep,
like the upward concerns
of an intern. Captains delight
in late night fatties, blue skies
dressed in vanilla, and star-
crossed lips ladled with love stains.
Free soil built this land. Death

may dance in the sun
but I’m taxed. Hand me a bill
of sale, this whore has the whole
damned country by the balls.
The king may know his legacy,
but where are his clothes, mind you?

The Right Wing spins
a new face while the Party
reminisces and the world
is made safe. For

democracy
is a costly business,
liberty a puff of smoke
in a courtroom.

Battlefield worms like us
seek security in slow-poppin’ cherries
and close calls,

rockets red glaring past our bedtimes.
I’m fed the hell up with Hillians casting lots,
forgetting to shed light
on this year’s stale,
burned-out
two-party topic.

#cigar #haveacigar #poetsunited

I'd be honored if you'd check out my other poems:


Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189



Sort:  

Thanks for writing about your experiences, and the gritty poem!

You have received an upvote (from @rycharde) and a resteem (from @accelerator) as part of the new MAP Trail initiative to support curated content.
You can see your entry here and the curator who promoted your post.
All of this is free and part of MAP's mission to support quality content creators by supporting curators.
You may help support the MAP Trail by either upvoting, resteeming or delegating to @accelerator :-)

Congratulations @blockurator, your post has been selected by the @asapers for a resteem and a feature in our brand new curation post. Issue 72

What does this mean for you? Well first an upvote from some members of the team, we are no @curie or @ocd but who is going to be unhappy with some extra upvotes. Also each post featured in the article will receive a 10% share of the SBD generated from the curation post.

Keep up the great work and please consider supporting the @asapers with an upvote and/or a resteem on the post you feature in. Please wait seven to ten days for payout.

Your friendly @asapers

Giving back A.S.A.P

Read Me ASAP.png

Great write-up @blockurator.
After a firefight in Iraq my Marines and I would wait for the first chance where we could stand around together, light up cigarettes and talk about what we'd experienced.
As I'm sure you know from protocol, sometimes we might have to wait days or weeks until such an opportunity arrived but it felt so damn good when it did.
It wouldn't matter that we were hungry, sleep deprived, smelled like shit and were probably hours away from going right back into action, those short smoke breaks took us to another place and made us feel like we could laugh in the face of death.
That feeling from smoking has stuck with me over 10 years later although I'm starting to look for other ways to recapture it that are less health adverse.
That's actually one of the themes in my recent artwork I posted "carousel of mortality"

Thanks @corpsvalues. It's hard to imagine if you weren't there, but those breaks were sacrosanct. Our unit was fortunate in that we were assigned the task of securing an airbase on a hill. The companies performed daily roving missions in our AO, but this afforded us many more cigar moment opportunities. Thanks for your service.

I am not sure of what to think, or feel, reading this poem, and especially the background that you here narrate. But in a word. I am touched. Very touched.

What an experience! And what a way to tell of it.

I wish i could force this post into TRENDING! I mean, such life experiences, told the way you tell, are so valuable, it comes with lessons that any heart, of wool or of stone melts of, and learns from!

I hope this somewhat gets noticed.

Otherwise, i do a personal curation where i scout content from newbies meeting three criteria of Originality, Depth and Relevance. Daily i feature at least 3 in my blog, in the hope of giving them some exposure and hopefully getting them noticed and rewarded. Find out more about it HERE

Your post here meets all of those criteria. So i am going to feature it. Its the least i can do for such a valuable contribution!

EDIT - meanwhile, i recommend you follow the @asapers. They are a group that supports, curates and promotes the quality works of their followers. You works are obviously quality, and fit the standards @asapers curates.


Congratulations, and all the best!

Thanks. Very kind words. I really appreciate your support. I'll check out @asapers right away.

The pleasure is mine, @blockurator. It is such a well captured poem and write, it deserevs more. I cant only show solidarity with such works, and proudly share them.

I saw you are now an @asapers. They are an awesome community, and will serve you well!

Thanks again, and glad to make your acquaintance.

Hi @mirrors, it was from your post that I found this poem. Thanks!
The MAP Trail is now supporting your work :-)

Much honored, and obliged, @accelerator. I looked over at what you guts are doing (i just got to know of the MAP Trail today) and wow! It is a long over due undertaking. I am glad you guys came around at just the right time.

Curation is a fundamental element of steemit sustainability as a platform, and curators require as much support as those they curate!

Your ideas is timely. Thanks again, and looking forward to growing partnerships!

Thanks again. This makes me feel a whole lot better that have made the right choice to morph MAP ;-)
Sadly, I don't have a huge SP (yet) but set it up ages ago to be self-financing, so won't disappear (unless I do!)
Yes, I hope this develops into more of a two-way relationship.
Thanks!

It will develop, i am sure.

Speaking of SP, it is one of the frustrations for the like of me, but i think accumulating it should be motive enough for our kind to even curate further, now especially with support such as the kind you are offering. I am really very impressed.

And yes, Self rather than delegated SP is usually more sustainable, ad dependable. But of course if delegated, why not.

@blockurator,

Interesting write up. I'm a vet too (and a poet) ... different army. I wonder if anyone ever likes the war they're in? The difference between the theory and the reality is always stark.

My experience (including Iraq ... a bit earlier than yours) was a bit different. Philosophically, I view war as, regrettably, inevitable. The thin veneer of civilization is just that ... "thin" ... and buried not-so-deep within human beings is a very nasty set of instincts and baser motivations. A great deal of history is simply trying to establish order from chaos. I doubt this will ever change.

Anyway, I'm glad to see you're a part of PoetsUnited. I'll check out your other stuff. Followed.

Quill

Thanks Quill. I agree that war is inevitable. I think it's ingrained in the human makeup. However, that's not to say that all war is right. If you wish, we can pick up that conversation on Discord. Otherwise, yes, I'm looking forward to more interactions with you. Thanks for following. I'll check out your poetry as well.

@blockurator,

Fair enough. QuillFire #7038 on Discord if you ever want to chat.

Congratulations!
Your poem is featured in todays Daily Dose #101
daily dose banner1-1.jpg
We value your active involvement in @poetsunited

I enjoyed reading your very well written poem - and the background you provided is invaluable.

@blockurator nice poetry ..pls rEad potery

I like the poetry " Cigar"

Thank you very kindly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63994.25
ETH 3062.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94