Hot Tails (Original Poem/Song)

in #poem5 years ago (edited)

He works a job from nine to five
Doing what he had to to stay alive
Working for a man who calls him lad
When he was twenty-six wasn't as bad
Now he’s forty-five and still at the grind
Wondering what happened to all that time

An original creation! I wrote this gosh maybe a year and half a go now, and have been trying to brave posting since. I am always so reluctant to post things I kinda like, that protective keep it hidden where its safe from the world feeling, so going to stop typing and post before I change my mind again!

Photo Credit

By Pixabay User stocksnap who just keeps adding to their wonderful collection


Have you heard?


Mortipus by Mad Uncle Art Studios

My contest - Tell A Story To Me - is back over on @bananafish


Check out the latest round - Big Brother's Got Your Back - a prompt about the future of smart tech in the home. Head over for the full prompt - open until April 15th
Sort:  

Novum kalium pirata.png

Congratulations, you've been selected to receive a 100% potassium enriched upvote from the @bananafish!

We are a safe harbor for every writer and poet. Freedom, solidarity, quality, inclusion: these are our values. Keep an eye on our weekly contests and grow with us in a friendly environment!

Join us! Here's your key to access the Bananafish Realms.

Gosh was it really that long ago? I remember when you let us read it during an unheard of night out. All I could think at the time was how good it was. It is still an amazing poem! I'm really glad you found the courage to post :)

It was before Jess moved, I could swear it was when we went out before Sara went travelling... so very long ago! Thank you <3 I wonder how mortified the man who inspired it would be if he knew haha

This is so awesome. No surprises though @calluna is art💜

Thank you so much <3 I very much hope I get the pleasure of an entry from you in this round of tell a story to me <3

check your discord love <3

You got yourself the makings of great country and western song there, Calluna. A good-ole tear jerker:)

Aww thank you so much, and it is very much a country and western sort of tune this comes out as in my head!

And lovely to hear from you again! And I have just noticed you are back to posting <3 you very much should check out a weekyl haiku contest out every friday over on @bananafish - you would be a very worthy entrant, it alternates english/spanish rounds and i think it is on spanish at the moment, but I know the guy who runs it would be thrilled to have someone with your appreciation for the form entering ;)

Thank you, Calluna. I will check @bananafish out:)

Oh I love this! Really captures the value of the present time. No matter how bleak life has been, if you make it to a state of joy, the bad times recede in importance.

<3 oh thank you so much!! And exactly, no matter how long or dark the path, once you walk in the sun, the shadows disappear behind you <3

Just stopping by to let you know that a new We-Write is happening at the Freewrite House. Hope you have time to grab a partner and participate.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@freewritehouse/we-write-partner-up-10-sbi-in-prizes-4-4-2019

Yah, mój Cally posted a poem... FOR THE FIRST TIME IN FOREVER!!!!~... Anyways, as @gaby-crb said: awesome poem and glad yah found the spirit to post it finally. Anywho, that long for an awesome one like this? What else is in the attic there, want me to pry it open?~ :p Anyhow, nice poem-ing as always and love to see these again!~

61C9E49C-6D0C-4C1F-A434-1BED20E64E1D.gif

Yey thank you so much <3 I don't know, I just horde things sometimes, like a dragon haha i do have few more tucked away, mainly just poems, i think this may have been the only song in there, but I dunno, some things I just like to keep for myself, can't really explain it

Proszę bardzo!!!!~ <<<<3333 Well, yah needn’t explain it any further if yah don’t feel or can’t explain it. I understand yah!~ <3 Also hast thou seen seesladen’s poem that compliments yers?

Congratulations @calluna! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1750 replies. Your next target is to reach 2000 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Oh...!
I know not how to appreciate this. Country music gets me Everytime. The story telling, the nostalgic even-if-absent-i-still-kinda-hear-it sound...

This is beautiful, it truly is...

Oh this made me so happy, I love it when the tune carries in the words. The story telling is something I love so much about country music, there is something so beautiful in the simplicity of a voice and guitar

thank you <3<3<3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79