@jonyoudyer // on poppies.

in #poem5 years ago

A poppy
sometimes misunderstood:
blamed for 70,000 deaths
in a year —
In the country I was born,
but hesitate to call my own.
It is my own, of course,
as opium is the milk
that drips off poppy stems.

Responsible for sleepy eyes
and crying mamas,
and also responsible for my heart
bouncing, when I see them
especially in the wild
especially in the south of France;
a poppy brings me joy
in the healthiest of ways,
and so I cannot judge
based on misuse
by doctors
and billionaires
who do not care
how tired children
long to feel okay.

I cannot know
If you relate,
or if you love them
as I do.
I can only hope
that you don’t love them
as others might.

this flower was meant
to exist
in a field,
uncultivated
by monsters
turning lives
to money and mush.


@jonyoudyer guessed a flower correct on my flower challenge: https://steemit.com/flower/@mo-nique/flower-challenge

Looks like this guy knows his plants 🌱 ❤️

If YOU want a poem too, check out that post and guess away ;)


xx Monique

ps. Sorry @jonyoudyer that your poem got a little dark, I will try to think of a more cheerful poppy related poem, but this was what appeared on the page when I started thinking.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Absolutely astonishing post, @mo-nique.

thank you so much :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @mo-nique! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 300 comments. Your next target is to reach 400 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemitBoard to support the german speaking community meetups
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Yes its true, the poppy is a beautiful flower with a dark side. By the way this is Jonyoudyer, you won yourself an upvote from canna-curate, ;)

Yay!! Thank you 😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

I think it's not an opioid poppy on a photo, it's anemone

Posted using Partiko Android

I know it isn’t ! It’s just a poem :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

I didn’t know what type it was though, so thank you ! You deserve a flower poem — Seems like you know your flowers 🥰 🌸

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87