Flightless and Most Foul- Poetry from the Helm- The U.S.S. MinnowPROSE!

in #poem6 years ago




I sailed across the sea, took my fish when I was hungry.
Never asked for anything more, just flew on by with mi'amor.
Huddled over the eggs when my matriarch beckoned.
Alas, we did not reckon.


The climate to change and destroy our roost.
Ice sheets falling like so much soot.
The sea welcomed each and every one.
Little did we think it would hunt our young.


The tide rose up and took our land.
Eating it inch by inch.
Where once this movement helped our feathered band.
Now it swallows us whole.


Drowning the chicks before they hatch.
Never had a chance this sorry batch.
We did what we could, pushed higher on the hill.
But eventually, we lost the skill.


Born for water, born for grace.
A penguin on land is a waddling disgrace.
Now I look to the air, to the birds wheeling about.
Dispair filling my empty heart.


To fly so high would be a treat.
I could escape the seas throbbing beat.
Bring my unborn along for the ride.
Oh, how I curse this waterproof hide.


Feathered yet not for flight.
My matriarch will never forgive this slight.
Perhaps my care was not enough.
To bring those chicks from that stony bluff.


From the cliff I dive to the deeps.
Hiding tearful eyes as I weep.
A penguin will never truly fly.
So deep down here I go to die.







We hope you like what we brought to the Blockchain today! Please leave your comments and feedback in the comments, we love to hear it!

Stay tuned to our page for Microscopic Mondays, drone shenanigans, poetry, 360 VR footage, 3D prints, and the occasional chuckle!

If you use steemvoter or any automation, please add us to your trail! We work hard to bring original content to the blockchain every day!


Much love, @sammosk and @stitchybitch! <3

Sort:  

A penguin might not fly in the air but in the deep blue sea their flight is just as majestic with its flying flair. @sammosk

Such eloquence you would not find elsewhere.
For you today I give some air.
No wait, it's full of h2o.
So I guess it's steem for sho!!

Thanks for the comment cryptopie. <3

This post has received a 11.11 % upvote from @sharkbank thanks to: @sammosk.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Lovely art images and what a grasping piece to have captured. award deserving picture. You waited for a long term to get the favored perfection and all of it is really worth the wait. lovable view and fantastic surroundings. Hold up the best work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64111.27
ETH 3065.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00