Ashes of Paradise

in #poetry5 years ago

girls-3053051_1280.jpg

For the longest time
I was stuck in the darkness of my own eyes
Unwilling to see the light
that was burning from within
Held hostage by all my foolish sins
But you helped me find fragments of my self
Helped me piece them back together even when I couldn't help
How could I be so blind?
To the love you always gave
Never once asking more from me
But peace

Now I've turned paradise into a tragedy

Let me find your eyes
Understand I was weak
Arrogant and vexed by the secrets I keep
Hiding in disguise
So afraid you'd push me away
If you really saw me in the Light of day
It's no excuse for what I did to you
I understand you couldn't see things through
When I threw in the towel as if to say
I never needed you to Light my way
Childish and mad, fixated on my dreams
Not taking time to grasp reality
Now you're gone
burning in my memories
And I don't know what to do

Amethyst

Image source

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88