Hu (R U) maN?

in #poetry5 years ago

02.jpg

Who is hyoooman, am I, are you...
are you a Human Being?
Iz dat who yoU real-lie aRe?


Are you your legs or perhaps your eyes,
one of the social masks you wear
maybe some other disguise?

03.jpg

Are you merely the role they gave you to play?
'Raging Psycho', 'Junkie', 'Sadistic Arsehole', 'Newage Hogwasher'
'MILF', 'Lost Soul', 'Knowitall', 'Pothead', 'Control Freak', 'Suit & Tie' etc?
Did you just fall for it, like I did - mistaking 'reel' and 'role' for 'real',
choosing apparent solidity of Thought over the magic of Feel?

Are you then a Human DO-ing?

Are you the lingering ache that lives in your breast;
through trauma and paranoia does your Being manifest?
What about sweaty palms; guilts; fears; desires, unshed tears
and all those intermittent joys across the swift waning years?

04.jpg

You must be your thoughts then, surely Descartes was right
"I know that I am coz I see myself thinking"
or something in Latin along similar lines!
Am I thought itself then, unmoving, unblinking?

06.jpg

What about the layers of identity I keep
rusty, dusty, manifold, multifaceted and deep;
why do tongues speak what is not really thought;
why does thought think what mouths dare not utter?
easier and more comfortable to remain asleep...
or so I think in my 'Comfort Zone' gutter!

05.jpg

I am a Being, yes yes... I feel, I experience!
I experience and I feel even when thought is inactive -
such as when I am lost in awe
or observing the experience of thoughtless meditation
or passionately singing a mantra, football chant or national anthem
or even just enjoying a really good shite!

09.jpg

But I am not the experience and I am not the details of my experience
At least I think I am not!
Indeed, thinking happens and then this happens:
I think, therefore I am.......confused

But I am not confused when I allow myself to feel
when I can feel my experience
or experience my feeling(s)
FULLY
coz then I am not seeking the moment
nor am I pushing it away
nor trying to control it
or define its shape.
I am being with it
just Be-ing
Present!

07.jpg

....and that is when IT comes
softly, gently, lucid and into sight
on a whisper of breeze and in the dance of sunlight
a song of all ages, all creeds, all thoughts and all stages
bringing the freshness of rain and rest for the brain,
gathering gradually in strength a soothing refrain
repeated twice more and then ever again:

I am a being of light, I am spirit.
I take on form, I do not have form!

I am a being of light, I am spirit.
I take on form, I do not have form!

I am a being of light, I am spirit.
I take on form, I do not have form!

08.jpg

page divider namaste green.png

As for me, I am not 'human' as such but I am having a Human Experience, the fact of which I am slowly waking up to. A barge is also a type of boat btw!

01.jpg

page divider dk green stars.png

blogmapfooter.png

banner_photographyPosts.jpg

SmokeBanner_forSteem.jpg

Sort:  

#wokeAF 🔆

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @futuremind.

Oh.this poem is great

Hi @barge!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.262 which ranks you at #7894 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 32 places in the last three days (old rank 7862).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 155 contributions, your post is ranked at #100.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85