Because

in #poetry6 years ago

FB_IMG_1526163829945.jpg
image source

*Because I could not eat this vulture' newly cooked leftover
*the intestines and kidney and torn skin and broken ribs of fathers
*the Holy blood and Slit tongue and sliced loaves of breast of mother-
*I stand tall and walk and fall and crawl and saw a shawl afar
*and pray with curse that it may be bread or I wish for a rain of manner-

*Because I have overeaten a full dish of sweet hunger
*I may then be bad to be good, eat the living corpse of brother and sister
*or I take a new life from death oh the world is wicked! a monster
*that picked a thick stick with a big brick hit my head with and give me a kick harder
*into the merciful claws of hunger my sadness is laughter.

*Because heaven is deaf and did not answer my prayer
*and the world is kind enough with war to make me suffer
*and oceans could not quench my flooded thirst in this coldly hot desert
*and hands could not come to save me from drinking from death's cup of water
*I crawl forward toward the eastward and westward part of this desert
*maybe mankind will emptify my stomach filled with hunger, but my strength waver.

*Because the gun has turn and burn and churn the world like paper
*I pray for sails to sail or trail this desert with milk and butter
*or wheels to bring coverings that my nakedness be covered
*for I am rich in wants and blessed to suffer
*to move on and on and on and on in search of an helper.

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

This poem is very touching. Nice one

Nicely written poem

I have just been deiven ro tears. Hmmm

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86