Some Babies

in #poetry5 years ago

Some babies come squirting out of their mothers
and dress up like preachers and gurus.
“Follow me,” say the babies.
“I know what’s going on.”

Some babies dress up like soldiers
and learn how to kill other babies for crude oil.

Other babies dress up like addicts, saying
“I just got here and it’s too much to deal with.”

Some babies dress up like artists
and spend their days being told to grow thick skin
by babies dressed as critics who never feel or make anything.

Some babies dress up like go-get-’em yuppies
and yell into iWidgets in cars that can park anywhere,
“Diversify the crypto with a three point portfolio,
ice the Suzuki deal and put the blockchain on top of the ethernet.”

Some babies dress up like newsmen
and tell everyone what to think about everything.
Other babies dress up like teachers
and tell smaller babies to listen to the newsmen.

Some babies dress up like rapists, saying
“You’re my thing and I can use you how I want to.”
Other babies dress up like victims
and stand frozen like ice where they were hurt.

Some babies dress up like factory farmers,
throwing pigs and chickens into threshing machines.

Some babies dress up like scholars,
adding “-ist” and “-ism” to the ends of words
that nobody else understands.

Some babies dress up like mothers, saying
“The privilege of chopping myself up every day
is all the reward I’ll ever need.”

All babies come squirting out of their mothers
and start dressing as things they are not.

The babies all march off the cliff together
and, just in their very last breaths,
remember innocence.







Thanks for reading! My articles and poems are entirely reader-supported, so if you enjoyed this piece please consider sharing it around, liking me on Facebook, following my antics on Twitter, throwing some money into my hat on Patreon or Paypal, purchasing some of my sweet merchandise, buying my new book Rogue Nation: Psychonautical Adventures With Caitlin Johnstone, or my previous book Woke: A Field Guide for Utopia Preppers. The best way to get around the internet censors and make sure you see the stuff I publish is to subscribe to the mailing list for my website, which will get you an email notification for everything I publish.

Bitcoin donations:1Ac7PCQXoQoLA9Sh8fhAgiU3PHA2EX5Zm2

Sort:  

Congratulations @caitlinjohnstone! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 600 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29