Weekend poetry: Ripples / Les vaguelettes (English-français) (with photo)

in #poetry5 years ago (edited)

Anybody born in Europe in the 1960s-1980s has heard of Genesis. This British band have been my all-time favorite since I was 12. I was even lucky to see them live in Toronto in 2007, during the North American leg of their last tour.

There are many songs I love in their catalogue, but one has made my heart skip a bit every time -- Ripples. It's part of the A Trick of the Tail album, which was released in 1976. The whole opus is pure beauty!

While you may remember me blogging about my love for Kahlil Gibran's work and how much it has influenced my style, I have also written a few pieces while listening to Ripples. That's why the poem below has the same title. ;-)

RIPPLES

One day, I threw a stone in a lake;
And the ripples, they made no mistake.
They glided quickly towards the shore,
Perfect circles, but knowing the score.
I watched them move smoothly to their death,
And I felt oblivious, out of breath.
Silence was perfect; light was complete;
And my heart and soul danced, replete.

I lay me down to sleep on the grass;
But the ripples, they refused to pass.
In my dream, I threw another stone...

Life bounces like pebbles on a lake.
Cme what may, ripples make no mistake.
Therefore, throw your own stones, let them bounce,
And accept what they proudly announce.

One day, I threw a stone in a lake...

©2007 Cendrine Marrouat

LES VAGUELETTES

Un jour, dans un lac, j’ai jeté un galet ;
Les vaguelettes ne se sont pas trompées.
Glissant rapidement vers la rive,
Cercles parfaits, la fin était impérative.
Leur paisible voyage vers la mort
M’a coupé le souffle et j’ai perdu conscience.
Le silence était parfait et la lumière, totale.
Mon cœur et mon âme se sont mis à danser.

Je me suis couchée sur l’herbe
Mais les vaguelettes ont refusé d’abdiquer.
J’ai rêvé que je jetais un autre galet…

La vie ressemble à ces pierres que l’on lance.
Les rides qui se forment, ne se trompent jamais.
Alors, joue avec tes galets, laisse-les ricocher
Et accepte leurs fières prédictions.

Un jour, dans un lac, j’ai jeté un galet…

©2008 Cendrine Marrouat

Fall 2015 scaled.jpg

CategoryNature photography
SettingsISO 200, f/4.5, 1/1000s
CameraCanon EOS REBEL T3i
LensCanon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 @ 36mm
LocationKings Park, Winnipeg, Canada

For those who wonder if you need expensive gear to take good shots, the photo above will answer the question. The T3i is an excellent camera to learn the photography chops and it won't cost you an arm and a leg. ;-)


Photography by Cendrine Marrouat ( @cendrinemedia ) - http://www.cendrinemedia.com


If you liked this post, leave a comment and share it! Thank you!


Do you know I have a newsletter? I send occasional emails to let people know what's new with me and my website. Click the form below to sign up.

screenshot-cendrinemedia.us7.list-manage.com-2019.01.03-18-03-06.jpg

If you have issues signing up, feel free to send me a private message on Discord (CM#2919), and I will add you manually.


See my photography, books and limited-edition prints for sale by clicking the image below:

Cendrine Marrouat Large scaled.jpg

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Yes I remember them well and that song, and a beautiful poem on it

Have a great week ahead

Congratulations @cendrinemedia! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

You' ve been selected always in support of good work

Largo mensajes.jpg

Individually, we are one drop. Together, we are an ocean.
- Ryunosuke Satoro.

Do not forget to use our tag #phototalent & #talentclub & #positivexposure

You can see our daily report in this link

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64999.89
ETH 3101.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87