All Dark

in #poetry5 years ago

body-1082139__480.jpg


I begin to write
Words and phrases I believe
You wish to hear
I have good intentions, you see
I want to make you happy
I wish for you to read with
A warm smile on your face
But it takes one word
Just one, for me to realise
That everything is a lie

Today, I want to be honest with you
It's always been about you
I hide behind the large cloak of deception
I lie to myself that your happiness is all it takes
I listen to you everyday
Wishing to be the person you want
I let you mold me into a thing
Maybe it's my fault
Perhaps you're right when you say that
I do not know how to feel

For once I don't want to be the water
Or the well
Or the ground
I'm tired of being stepped on
I don't have the story you yearn for
You probably want to know what
I do in the dark
And the places my fingers touch
I can’t answer your questions anymore
My cheeks ache from the endless fake smiles

People always have a direction
Young girls giggling to their unfunny jokes
While looking at themselves in the mirror
Young boys checking out their muscles
While daydreaming about a girl
I only have skin
Miles of it
Naked, brusied
Hidden under my underwear


My writings recently have been light, very light if you compare them to the previous ones. But I feel like I'm hiding behind a curtain. I understand that light is okay and beautiful but I can't relate with it, no matter how beautiful the words are or how hard I try. Maybe I've known dark for too long that light is now a stranger.

Image source

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Congratulations @chinyerevivian! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 30000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 35000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78