Free Verse Poem

in #poetry5 years ago

Nature is vast as it is beautiful. I’m not quite sure anyone can capture it with just words or photographs. A part of it, maybe. This poem is written during one of my peaceful moments. Read and don't forget to tell me your thoughts.


mountain-landscape-2031539__480.jpg



It’s in the stillness of the night. The sky, illuminated by the stars. The moon, round and bright, unlike the night before. Its light brings a smile to my lips. Mouth turned upside down in pleasure, I murmur to myself, and touch my cheeks to feel the warmness. Maybe it's not just the sky but the wind too. The sway of branches whistling like someone calling a name. The breath of fresh air. The gentle breeze on the skin. It’s fingers through the hair like a passionate lover.

It’s in the birds of the air. They fly past, one before the other, chirping and flapping their wings. I remember the singing multicolored one I saw before dusk. Its voice so melodious I stood and stare. So small, I thought, yet so beautiful and energetic. It continues to sing, lost in the lyrics it’s born with, oblivious of its audience. What if it sees me? I wondered. Then it turns like someone whispered in its ears. It stares at me like it knows me. I raise my hand in salute. Then it turns and flies away. I watch it soar with a smile on my face.

It’s in the toothless grin of a baby. Shooting arms and legs in the air, wishing to be carried and tickled. The harmless smile when happy. The innocent wail when uncomfortable. The tranquility when asleep. Or is it the worried frown of a mother. Unspoken words passed to her child. Anger when her child is hurt. Then the desire to shield from harm. To provide everything, her greatest desire. Love unconditional, only thing she knows. The simplicity of things. The serenity of nature.

Image Source

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73