Unfettered Feelings

in #poetry5 years ago

portrait-3050076__480.jpg


I have tears in my eyes.
Shinny liquid pulling at the corners
Of that beautiful part of me.
Stinging as it crawls
Like fat balls down my cheeks.
Hot when I wiped it in frustration.
I’m letting it fall.
I don’t care it moves past my jaw
And down my throat.
The irregular patterns no longer bother me.
Appearances has disappeared.

My heart is full.
I begin to talk but can’t finish.
The words come out jumbled,
Broken like an old piece of furniture.
My voice crack as I try to speak.
Maybe from keeping quiet for so long,
Or from exhaustion threatening to overwhelm.
I’ve always loved the silence,
Even when I try and fail to meditate.
I love it still.
Just me and nothingness.

There’s a lump in my throat.
Not from love or new found feelings,
Rather, from old pain ignored.
Past hurt shoved into the dark.
Swallowed like a hot liquid,
Forgotten like an unfinished liquor.
They’re all back to the surface
I’m neither ignoring nor encouraging.
It’s floating around and I don’t mind.
It bites my stomach day and night.
I’m too tired to fight back.

Maybe this tears would wipe it all away
And I get to start anew.
Maybe it would keep it all within reach,
Where I won’t be able to escape
I’ve resigned everything to fate.
I live by the day,
Waking in the morning,
Going to bed at night.
The dreams steals in and out of my sleep,
But they don’t scare me anymore.
I will myself to forget at dawn.


I wrote this piece listening to this tune. I didn’t listen till the end. Don’t want to go too deep. Maybe I was scared of what I would find. It made me think things I would rather not on a good day. Tell me what you think.

Hey, @ruth-girl. You got what you wanted.

Image source

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! We encourage and support quality contents and projects from the West African region.
Do you have a suggestion, concern or want to appear as a guest author on WAfrica, join our discord server and discuss with a member of our curation team.
Don't forget to join us every Sunday by 20:30GMT for our Sunday WAFRO party on our discord channel. Thank you.

CONGRATULATIONS YOUR POST WAS SELECTED IN WAFRICA CURATION

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73