"Descarte's Dream" ~ A Haiku by Duncan Cary PalmersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry6 years ago

"A year spent in artificial intelligence is enough to make one believe in God."
- Alan Perlis -


Poetry draws me like a moth to a flame...

Once again, @vdux is running a haiku contest, and once again I'm late to the party... But, it's a party I find fascinating.

An @vdux contest: A/I Haikus!

The @vdux challenge is to write a haiku about Artificial Intelligence, or A/I.

Could something created by man ever possibly think?

Table of Contents

Have you met your match?
Image courtesy of Andy Kelly and http://unsplash.com

Do robots think?

Is artificial intelligence alive and aware?

For centuries,

philosophers like Descarte have been asking this question about humans. Serious thinkers still wonder about it.

Descarte's famous observation was:

"I think, therefore I am."



Table of Contents
I put a lot of thought into this...
Image courtesy of Markus Spiske and http://unsplash.com


Descarte's Dream

by Duncan Cary Palmer

I think, so I am.
I think so... I am... So, what?
I think I'm alive.




Table of Contents

Have you met your match?
Image courtesy of Andy Kelly and http://unsplash.com

What do you think?

Will A/I's ever be truly conscious and aware?


~FIN~


P.S. If you have an "in" with anybody at Steemit, Inc. - Would you please ask them to get rid of these damn, extremely annoying "off-website" arrow/boxes? The have, overnight, made Steemit ugly. There are much better solutions.


For more haiku, limericks, and poems of many kinds,
please CLICK our Library Poetry Shelf.


Table of Contents


Table of Contents


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
SILVERengines
Introducing: The SILVERengines proton - Image by @creatr
CONTACT US - Will Exchange for Steem


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr

Sort:  

Great poem. Never will artificial intelligence surpass man in discovering new knowledge in harmony with God. Best regards

Thank you.

People who are alive and 'awake' can still think. So true. I feel so ad for the sheeple out there. God did not need AI to make us. Great poem @creatr.

A great poem my friend and a really clever play on words.

I don't personally think that AI can become self aware. The thought is of it becoming so is definitely a scary one though. :(

I hope life is treating you well mate! :)

Hi, Tony, and thanks! So nice to hear from you. ;)

I suspect self aware A/I may be possible; but that's probably the influence of much of the science fiction and theology reading that I do...

I've been doing well, Thank you for your kind wishes. How are you, my friend?

It seems that a lot of scientific fact begins its life as science fiction these days. Its hard to figure out who is having the greater influence on who or where fiction ends and fact begins.

i'm also good, thanks. Could be better but then so could we all. :)

Glad you're doing OK... Take care!

Excellent poetic reflection. Descartes separated the essence or soul from the body, is the precursor of Western philosophy. "I believe that then I exist" was what drove the industrial revolution, which gave rise to the mechanistic paradigm because within that philosophy man compared himself with the creator and created, unlike the western paradigm where the whole was connected with the whole and the Nature and man is in constant synergy. But the truth is that there is a God who creates wonders and discarded the possibility that a ROBOT think like man. As always, I congratulate you for those reflective poems @creatr

Thanks, @yose, for stopping by with your comments.

I'm uncertain as to whether the matter is quite that plain.

God has given us great powers and abilities. The risk I see is that of man seeking to elevate himself above God. And sadly, this I see on a daily basis as human governors pretend to have some authority to rule their fellow man.

I don't think that imitating God within limits--for example by attempting to create a thinking being--would be an affront to God's dignity.

This is @creart, the enemy is very clever

Yes, he is, but we are prepared:

"...so that we would not be outwitted by Satan; for we are not ignorant of his designs."
- 2 Corinthians 2:11

Descarte: "I think therefore I am".

Humans have the ability to think and create things.
Artificial Intelligence is the work put in by human ideas.

Punctuation, changes, everything.

Nice haiku :)

:D

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14