"Genesis" ~ by Duncan Cary PalmersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

"Beyond a doubt truth bears the same relation to falsehood as light to darkness."
- Leonardo da Vinci -


Light.

What can you say about light?

Ubiquitous. Universal. Essential to life.

This 50 word challenge took me back to the fundamentals, to origins...

Don't miss @jayna's 50 word story writing challenge this week.

Table of Contents

Darkness on the face of the deep...
Image courtesy of Tobias van Schneider and http://unsplash.com

Long ago and far away...


"Genesis"

by Duncan Cary Palmer

Heaven, done.
Earth: begun.
Stars? None.
No sun.

Empty, shapeless
Darkness deep.
God observing
From his keep.

Occult shadow,
Naught to see.
Nary glimmer,
Sky or sea.

Deepest blackness,
Jet, obscure.
Crucial lack
Without a cure?
~~~

Breath, on water hovering,
Palpably uncovering,
One Word,
Day discovering.

"Light!"

Let it be.



Table of Contents

Light! Let it be...
Image courtesy of Laib Khaled and http://unsplash.com

Thanks for the challenge, Jayna!


~FIN~


P.S. If you have an "in" with anybody at Steemit, Inc. - Would you please ask them to get rid of these damn, extremely annoying "off-website" arrow/boxes? The have, overnight, made Steemit ugly. There are much better solutions.


For more poetry of all kinds,
please CLICK our Library Poetry Shelf.


Table of Contents


Table of Contents


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
SILVERengines
Introducing: The SILVERengines proton - Image by @creatr
CONTACT US - Will Exchange for Steem


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr

Sort:  

What a beautifully-crafted and eye-candy of a poem that was. Resteemed it.

Why, Thank you! :D

Aprofound poem, filled with layers of meaning and symbolism to interpret...
Love it..❤

Thanks for sharing & have a lovely day, dear @creatr..☕❤

You are welcome, dear @creatr...❤
I just wrote a short story... Would you please visit my blog also and read it...
Thank you very much before...☕☕❤❤

Wow what a wonderful meaningful poetry! Really i liked this appreciate your good works, thanks to share and best wishes for you.

Very nice combining poetry with spreading the truth. I appreciate your writing and belief. @creatr.

Thanks, Troy.

Hey you! Thank you for swinging me into the 50 word challenge. Did you know I posted some more contests of my own?

Giveaway SBDs https://steemit.com/contest/@vdux/sbd-giveway-grand-experiment

Haiku contest https://steemit.com/contest/@vdux/win-sbds-and-more-in-the-vdux-haiku-contest-let-s-mambo-baby

Hello, @vdux!

Thanks so much for stopping by and letting me know what you're up to...
I'll check those out! :D

Sometimes the words sound aloud in my head as I read them. This was a time of that. Awesome!

Thank you, Jon! :D

Poetry is inspiring and very motivating. Thanks for sharing friend @creatr. You always have good details for us.

Thank you, Felix!

Wow, that one nearly knocked me over.... Really really good stuff there @creatr.. Powerful, and I love the photo, makes me want to be in the water right now.. Gorgeous

Thanks for your kindly encouraging reaction. :D

Thank you @creatr quality poetry

I liked this @creatr. It has a beat....like a metronome.

And the message....perfect.

Thank you, friend. I am encouraged. :D

I like the sense of pausing, kinda between days, very nice!

Thanks! :)

How are you?

Thank G-d, doing more than okay! You well too? Been a while since we've skyped, so if it suits you, I'll try to pop on around 10:30pm my time Saturday night? No worries if not, but it would be nice :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63956.04
ETH 3066.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31