How Have The Mighty Fallen?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry6 years ago

"I've learned ... that no one is perfect until you fall in love with them."
- Andy Rooney -


Falling.

What a perfect metaphor for the fluttery feeling, that magical floating sensation which at times unaccountably appears when boy meets girl.

Table of Contents

Falling... ~ Image courtesy of Filipe Dos Santos Mendes and http://unsplash.com


How Have The Mighty Fallen?

by Duncan Cary Palmer

How does love begin?
A look? A word?
Might it have been
'Suite Judy Blue Eyes,'
Never before heard?

Not gorgeous,
But delightful, sweet,
Her voice—Angelic
Mine did meet
In lovely harmony.

Us,
A duet?
Not to be,
Not yet...

Competition arrives
By roller coaster.
Why Dennis?
Why not I?
Holding hands,
Forlorn I see them,
Running
From the Matterhorn.

Dark thoughts dispersed
By thrilling discovery:
Feelings!
She has,
For me.

Oh, Glory!

Resurgent gloom;
Far away,
Untouchable,
At home,
One for Marilyn
Waits.

How can this man,
In time and space remote,
Obscure, unseen—
Three thousand miles distant—
Stand between?

Why Calvin?
Why not me?
Where the justice?
What the fate?
Why have I
Arrived too late?

Sitting on her bed's edge,
Stretched across
A billion miles,
My hand caresses
Marilyn's cheek,
I gaze into her eyes.

So close
I can taste it,
Love denied,
Rapture wasted.

Time foments
A bittersweet farewell.
Marilyn's wrists
Enwreath my neck.
Brief, deliberate, unrushed,
Her sweet kiss
Lingers still.

Back to Calvin.

The letter comes,
Too late.
"I hear your voice,"
Marilyn writes,
"Softly drifting on the wind."

Watch it fall
Into the bin.
Her penned memory,
Discarded,
Never to be read again.


Table of Contents

Falling in love...
Image courtesy of Timo Stern and http://unsplash.com


~FIN~



Table of Contents

Falling in love...
Image courtesy of Mahkeo and http://unsplash.com


P.S. If you have an "in" with anybody at Steemit, Inc. - Would you please ask them to get rid of these damn, extremely annoying "off-website" arrow/boxes? The have, overnight, made Steemit ugly. There are much better solutions.


For more poetry of many kinds,
please CLICK our Library Poetry Shelf.


Table of Contents


Table of Contents


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
SILVERengines
Introducing: The SILVERengines proton - Image by @creatr
CONTACT US - Will Exchange for Steem


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr

Sort:  

I find this piece very interesting. I dont really have tome to comment right now, but I'll be back later.

Thanks, Moe...

I would value your comments greatly.

@creatr, Thank you for reminding me about this.

I like the way this poem is written. It reminds me of the way memories flow in the mind; Not in nice and neat, well-structured paragraphs, but in simple singular thoughts. I pictured an old love letter found in an attic or some other place where memories are kept for one reason or another. While the memories are somewhat painful, I get the impression that the narrator is not as affected by them as the reader might be. It was a love lost, but perhaps it led to a love being found. In either case, Marilyn and her love letter hold no power over him anymore. He regards this instrument that once dominated his thoughts with utter indifference. Any trace of power or might is dissipated in the final stanza of the poem as the letter falls into non-existence.

Nice write, Duncan. It was really a joy to read and ponder.

Thank you, Moe, for coming back to this and for leaving such a comprehensive and constructive comment.

Life holds a series of alternatives. We may at times wonder what might have been, while still being grateful for the actual course of events.

Thanks again for taking the time and effort to respond.

😄😇😄

@creatr

This is an absolutely beautiful narration of a heartbreaking story. Sad that it ends without Marilyn staying with him but I guess that's love

Is it not also interesting to note that pride preceded the fall of the annointed Cherub with one third of the angels who left their first estate?

...which led to the fall of man in Eden?

Everything we have seen, are seeing now, amd will see, has its cause in pride and fall. Love, falling in, is surrendering one’s heart, that should Belong to the Lord first... here having learned the hard way.

Greetings, @globocop! How lovely to hear from you.

Thanks for your visit.

In some senses, I think that "fall" is an unfortunate term. I think that "falling in love" is really God's design as expressed so well in the Song of Songs.

As always, the trouble comes in that Adam has already fallen, sadly following in the footsteps of Lucifer.

But it is the redemption of love that we wait for with longing, the story of Ruth and Boaz, the mutual rescue of Abigail by David and David by Abigail, the unmitigated joy of bride and bridegroom.

We await both the restoration of Jacob and Rachael as well as the the reconciliation of Leah and blind Jacob. We are waiting for the elimination of these four things.

For all who have surrendered our hearts to the LORD, he in turn promises to give us our hearts' desires.

I hope your new life in Panama is experiencing blessing. :D

😄😇😄

@creatr

Both what is said and the poetical structure intrigues me. Obviously you did well making me think. Thanks my friend @creatr.

Thank you, Troy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29