Requited Love

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

"To love someone is nothing, to be loved by someone is something, to love someone who loves you is everything."
- Bill Russell -


A poem for distant lovers,

prompted by @zen-art's poetry contest.

Table of Contents

Lover's Moon... - Image courtesy of El Salanzo

Requited Love

by Duncan Cary Palmer

Two thousand lonely miles removed
And twenty years apart,
She yearns for him-
He pines for her-
Their words flow from the heart.

But what cruel twist of fate decrees
Corporeal separation,
While modern network miracles
Permit communication?

Forbidden love, doomed from the start,
Precluded by two priors.
Yet all the wisdom
In the world
Cannot quench their desires.

"Can you not turn back time?" she asks.
"I long ago committed."
"I, too."
"I know."
"Why is it that
Exceptions aren't permitted?"

Their words of love abruptly cease,
When found out by a spouse.
All for the best?
Their souls now rest
Each in its proper house.

In retrospect, they recognize
The friendship that was theirs
Was certainly a gift from God
To treasure through the years.

For love's no thing ephemeral,
Confined to time and space.
Its power isn't temporal,
Or easily erased.
Love never fails, it is the greatest
Force that's er'e been known.
Their love they'll one day consummate,
In an eternal home.



~FIN~

Note: If you're reading this after the payout window has closed,
you can still reward it: CLICK HERE.

P.S. If you have an "in" with anybody at Steemit, Inc. - Would you please ask them to get rid of these damn, extremely annoying "off-website" arrow/boxes? The have, overnight, made Steemit ugly. There are much better solutions.


For more poetry,
please check out our Library Poetry Shelf - CLICK below:


@creatr


Table of Contents


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
SILVERengines
Introducing: The SILVERengines proton - Image by @creatr
CONTACT US - Will Exchange for Steem


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr

Sort:  

I enjoyed this. It feels like there's a couple ways this can be understood (I've always felt that good poetry can be taken in different ways depending on who is reading it, and may not match the author's intent, for better or worse).

Sounds like a couple folks that love each other from a distance, but have already committed to marriages they're in and have retreated back to those. In the end, however, when they die, they will be together.

I've always wondered about those 'forgotten' loves in our lives. In the midst of them, you think 'I can't think of any way this could end, we'll be forever', but relationships are never static; they're always getting better or worse. And most of them end, either with a whimper or a bang. It's only the most fortunate of us that get to cling to at least one for years or decades. (Doesn't mean we don't mourn for the ones that are gone, though)

Thanks for the insightful poetry. Makes me think of things long forgotten.

Hey Neg,

I'm glad you found this enjoyable and thought provoking. I'm always amazed at how contests seem to draw the creativity out of me. Why can't I just wake up in the morning and go "I'm going to write something fascinating today?"

There was once a short lived TV series called "Finder of Lost Loves." I think it is a theme that inevitably recurs to many of us from time to time.

I have come to believe that we created persons have a virtually unlimited emotional capacity to love and be loved, but what we lack is time and resources to love in the practical, physical and economic actions implied by that verb.

Eternity is effectively the solution to everything, although the concept presents a perpetual struggle for my imagination to grasp how it will actually play out. I continue to wrestle mightily with the practical problem of imagining how to write fiction with a compelling story arc about absolutely untroubled and beneficent people living in an utterly unsullied environment. It's that problem you were kind enough to discuss with me once on Discord some time ago.

Thanks for your very thoughtful comment. :D

I'd love to hear "the other way" that you might have taken this poem...

😄😇😄

@creatr

Wow!!!!
@enginewitty just read this on his show!!!! We all loved it @creatr :)

powerful - and so beautiful to know that love is eternal! and i know that your stories touch on this over and over hehehehe

and i know that you like to imagine all these aspects! and we keep meaning to discuss when we get together - and never do! hehehehehe

but i loved this poem! not sure if you moved @zen-art - but you moved all of us in the show :)

Hi my friend,

So, this is my surprise of the day... to have been read "on the air?" Cool. :D

I wish I had heard this... I try to achieve a verbal rhythm in my poetry, and it would have been fun to hear someone else read it out loud. :)

I had a couple of chairs set up in the tree house for your visit, but we never got up there... Ah, well, next time.

I am glad you liked my poem. :D
Thanks for letting me know. ;) <3

we NEVER get to that treehouse! and i SAW the chairs!!!!!!!!!!! LOLOLOL

Wow! This is... so real. So understood. So beautiful and true. How many feel this way, I wonder, and realize that, however impossible, love is always a gift?

Greetings, @katrina-ariel,

Thanks so much for stopping by with your lovely comment. I'm so glad you liked this. :)

You should write a book with all your poetry @creatr, you are very talented in more ways than this :)

Thanks, Karen. :)

Always welcome :)

You are talented!!. Thanks for sharing! upvoted!

LOVE IT!

I'm glad... Thanks for letting me know.

Nice to "meet" you here, @franciferrer... How did you discover my writing?

through the move me challenge, i wanted to know when will zen art would close the contest. then i saw your entry. i liked it a lot.

Thanks. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28