Sweet Love Remembered - An Original Poem

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

“For thy sweet love remembered such wealth brings
That then I scorn to change my state with kings.”

– William Shakespeare –



Table of Contents

Her flowing, chestnut hair...
Image courtesy of Stefan Keller and http://pixabay.com



Sweet Love Remembered

~by Duncan Cary Palmer~
 
Subtly overcome,
the years and distance fall.
Inkling upon hint
compel "the big reveal."
 
Sluggish heart of me,
so quickened by her hand,
defibrillated, warmed, revived,
for but a paltry span.
 
Flowing chestnut hair,
grown out, in love, for me!
Now obscuring, now revealing
what I dare not see.
 
Oh, pallid Moon!
How could you fail us,
distant lovers to unite?
 
You've fled the scene,
to leave me naught but
fading mem'ries of delight.



~FIN~


For more haiku and other poems, please visit our Library Poetry Shelf - Just CLICK the shelf below.


Table of Contents


LOOK! Check out our amazing product:
SILVERengines
Introducing: The SILVERengines proton - Image by @creatr


Thanks for your time and attention.
You are why I'm here on Steemit!
I have very eclectic interests and hope, over time, to write about them all.


⬇️To Check Out @creatr's World⬇️CLICK Each Image Below⬇️

@creatr @creatr @creatr

Sort:  

an interesting poem based around a Shakespearean allusion and a traditional form, but in the middle you use the term 'defibrillated' Don't think I've ever seen that before lol

Thanks, John...

"Defibrillated..." A good, English word, is it not?

That's what you get when you cross an inventor/technologist and a poet... ;)

Wonderful piece of poetry , Well done @creatr keep on sharing and best of luck for future too

Thank you, kind sir.

Great poem, as I am a sucker for love! Look out for my romance/dating tips a bit later today.

Thank you, Hope.

We're all "suckers for love." It makes the world go 'round, right? ;)

I feel as if I've cheated having read your recent post, "How the mighty have fallen". Are they related? I liked how you described the feelings in there, and I felt that the cadence (and the change in cadence in particular) helped to accentuate those feelings. Nice write.

Hey, Moe,

Thanks so much for visiting here and interacting...

Related only in that both reflect on lost loves... and so the feelings are authentic. ;)

I consider myself a "hacker poet," but once in a while things seem to work. Thanks for noticing the change in cadence at the end there... :D

Beautiful and melancholy poem @creatr! Good choice.

Thanks, my friend. Melancholy indeed...

Tipped @creatr 200 SMART! Comment @smartbot help to claim. Currently the price of SmartCash in the market is $0.068 USD per SMART. To find out more about SmartCash, please visit https://smartcash.cc.

You can use the following commands:

  • balance - displays your current wallet balance
  • address- displays your deposit address
  • withdraw <address> - withdraws your whole wallet balance to specified address
  • tip <nick> <amount> - sends the specified amount of smartcash to nickname
  • terms - displays terms and conditions for using @smartbot

Nice poem @creatr. Thanks for sharing. Upvoted.

Thank you! :)

You got me on this one. Indeed romantic but sad too. Beautifully done @creatr. A pleasure to read!

Thanks, Troy. :D

@oiginalworks

Soo romantic...

Thanks, my friend.

Did you mean @originalworks?

Oh I did indeed - I was far too dreamy after reading your poem... :)

This is emotional and it expresses the author's most deep feelings.....great write up creatr

Thanks for your visit and sweet comments. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70455.47
ETH 3561.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71