I FOUGHT THE RULERS OF DARKNESS

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

DQmRMw6ij2F4vh78qNXksEbjd5LNb56TzroKQryioAKtUc5_1680x8400.jpg
Picture source: @steemit-virus

The picture above reminded me of my trials in life and shows how my hands will be after fighting the devil hovering as I present the dust of a crumbled foundation to my God to rebuild and bring to life.
I wrote a poem about it today and want to share it here.

POEM:

I FOUGHT THE RULERS OF DARKNESS

The battle line was drawn
Even before it dawned on me
The seal of our union taken
Even before I had it
The bliss promised became thunder storms hovering
Strike it did
Beyond my imaginations
The very foundations of our union
My faith, my hopes and my dreams
All dashed against the rocky waves
The wind seems not to favour my sail to the rescue shore
I need to get to the lighthouse.

In the waves and storms I fought
Daily I fought the very seams of our union
Daily I fought the noises in my head
Daily I fought the tears in my eyes
Daily I fought Myself
I realised...
I fought the wrong battles
I realised...
I fought with the wrong weapons
I realised...
I wrestle not against flesh and blood but against the rulers of the darkness

Awakened with a Holy Indignation
I took up the stand and stood still
Daily I fought the rulers of darkness
Daily I fought with the shield of faith on my left hand
Daily I fought with the sword of the spirit in my right hand
Daily I fought against the rulers of darkness.

Daily I fought the rulers of darkness
I was not afraid of the terror by night nor of the arrows that flies by day
Daily I fought the rulers of darkness
The foundations of our union crumbled to dust
Daily I fought the rulers of darkness
The dust gathers up in my hands
Daily I fought the rulers of darkness
Seated by God's right hand
Daily I fought the rulers of darkness
Till the God of Jacob makes them my footstool
And the battle is won
My hands filled with ashes and the dusts of the foundations of our union
And I present them to you God of Jacob
To blow upon them Your Breath of Life.

Bible excerpts from: Psalms 91, Psalms 110, Ephesians 6.

Thanks steemians for reading. Love you all.

Sort:  

@cwen So much information thanks for sharing.

You fight the good battle. I like it that you won. Good job.

Thank you dear

You welcome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27