A Walk In The Forest

in #poetry5 years ago

Seeking peace and rest,
I took a walk in the forest.
A small path scenic and serene,
wound through trees and over streams.

Brushing against my knee,
I saw the famous leaves of three.
I might have avoided that,
if my eyes weren't blinded my gnats.

A snap and snort
from the brush,
warned me of
the charging buck.

My best chance
to escape and flee,
was to climb
the nearest tree.

I ascended
and I crossed,
a nest of
angry wasps.

I fell
as I was stung,
onto the back of the buck,
and I clung.

Through the bushes
we ran with haste,
with briers
scratching my face.

I fell
and the buck left me there,
to escape
the charging bear.

I landed it seems
in the shrubs,
that had been
a bed for its cubs.

I ran and dove
into a stream,
that was not as deep
as it seemed.

I awakened
on the shore,
not as fit
as I was before.

Fearing no
animals wrath,
I dragged myself
on the path.

After
the setting sun,
I was back
where I had begun.

I 'll not return,
I assume.
As I lay in
the emergency room.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05