Forgive Me My Country

in #poetry6 years ago

PicsArt_05-15-01.43.27.jpg

Forgive me my country
I danced to your funeral
the day you were born

I do not hate
but why would you be born
in the corridors of ants and lizards?

Washed in shame
in the tears
of monkeys and baboons

Baptized in lies
in the name of the white god
whose priest is adorned in stained cassock

In the parlours of fury
you grew
appearing in colours of obscurity

Today, you lie before
your grave
caricatured by flies and maggots

And a vulture who do not
know his age
nor neither ashamed of his bald head

I am not your father
my country
I can only weep for you

I am not your brother
my country
yet I have tried to bury your corpse

I am not your son
my country
I am your prisoner

Trapped in the
pit
of your hopelessness

Against my will
and that of
my kinsmen

Sort:  

Cool, nice poem man. Keep up the good work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97